Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
i don't know - maybe i was expecting more...i added a clove of garlic minced and old bay seasoning and still got complaints of it being bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
So easy! I used less butter and waited to salt the broth only after it was ready. I didn't let it stand for half an hour. I recommend having some crusty french bread handy for the broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Never thought Corona and shrimp could taste so good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is EXCELLENT! Simple and simply delicious. I didn't change a thing and my entire family LOVED the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verysinfulcook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
WOW! I tried this recipe and it came out de-lici-ous! I actually made this with 2 1/2 pounds of shrimp, half the butter and 2 beers to boil in, followed the rest as stated and also took reviewers advise and added old bay.. I also added garlic and added bay leaves and let it sit for 30 minutes (shripm will not turn rubbery!). Came out stupendous! served with yellow rice and had a restaurant quality meal made by a trusty person (me, lol) I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great, different taste than I'm used to in shrimp. Next time I would cut way down on the butter (was just a bit too rich for me as written), and add some garlic. I found that it was absolutely necessary to let the shrimp sit in the beer mixture for the full half-hour...improved the taste and made them exceptionally tender. My husband loved this dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was great! I didn't have any onions, but I will definitely try it with them next time. I cut way back on the butter, mainly because I served them with clarified butter. I also added garlic cloves and Old Bay. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is SO good ! We seriously scaled back on the butter though . Did not let them sit the full 1/2 hour either as we were afraid they would be rubbery. Turned out great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I love this I am making it as I type for the second time. Great flavor only things I do different..... add a garlic clove and 1 tablespoon of old bay!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
We would definitely make this again with a mellower beer (my husband's treasured home brew made it a little too hoppy!). Good suggestion for adding Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States