Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Loved this recipe!!!! I took the advice of some other reviewers and added garlic and Old Bay Seasoning. I served it over rice and yummo. I saved the "stock" too for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I did this recipe with shell-on, de-veined shrimp, keeping the heat at a simmer until they just turned pink, then turning them out in a bowl with the liquid to steep for about 1/2 hour. The texture and flavor were excellent! The previous reviewers had it right about adding Old Bay Seasoning (omitting salt). 3/4 TBL per pound was about right. I also added a pinch of cayenne to give it a little top-note. Beware of heavily hopped beers. I used Miller High Life and it came out fine. Might be interesting to try with a simple ale, too, for a slightly sweet taste. Many previous reviewers added garlic. I did not, but I could tell that it would be a good addition. Definitely serve with a crusty french bread to soak up the juice! I'd pair it with a cucumber and vinegar salad and some radishes. GREAT recipe!! I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have been making a recipe similar to this for ages. The only difference is I do not shell the shrimp but leave them in the shell to boil in the beer and then let everyone peel their own. I also omit the butter from the boiling and just serve it on the side with a lot of garlic for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
YUMMERS! I had 2 pounds of shrimp and began the recipe from memory. I thought the original stated 1 cup of butter, so I accordingly halved it to 1/2 a cup, or one stick. I used 2 beers and added garlic and Old Bay Spice as well. The shrimp was divine! Great with pasta and French bread to suck up all the juices. I have frozen the rest of the broth for fish sou someday. So, even though I inadvertently cut the butter WAY down (and I am a butter freak), it was superb and I will keep to the one stick whenever I make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
this was awesome!! broke the golden rule and made it for the first time for company....outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
we did not care for this we wasted 2 lbs of good shrimp all you could taste was bitterness from the beer and I'm a beer drinker won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I am not a huge fan of either shrimp, or beer (I had no wine in the house), but my husband loves both. I took the advice of other reviewers, and used old bay in the pot. I also used old bay to coat the shrimp after I got them out of the pot. I served mine atop a salad. My husband says he loved it, but I prefer other things to be done to shrimp, and other things to be done with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Did not like this flavor at all! Even added bay seasoning and garlic. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
we love this recipe! thanks so much for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
i don't know - maybe i was expecting more...i added a clove of garlic minced and old bay seasoning and still got complaints of it being bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States