Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This just wasn't that good. Very disappointing. Sounded awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
i made this last night, but i didn't like it. i added fresh garlic and substituted half of the butter for olive oil. it just wasn't tasty, and the sauce was too watery. the beer taste was also too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
MY HUSBAND AND I DIDN'T LIKE THESE AT ALL. I EVEN ADDED FRESH GARLIC, AND THEN ADDED GARLIC POWDER AT THE END AND IT STILL DIDN'T TASTE GOOD. I'M GLAD I ONLY DID 2 LBS. VERY DISAPPOINTED. IF I WOULD'VE ADDED SOME CUT UP SAUSAGE TO THE BUTTER AND ONIONS IN THE BEGINNING, THAT WOULD'VE MADE IT TASTE REALLY GOOD. IT NEEDED SOME FLAVOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I cooked it as is, and it was not flavorful enough...I usually do not add salt to my food and had to add it to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prudence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very very good recipe! Added garlic powder and black pepper to onion butter mixture. Omitted the salt, and using half the amount of butter (no salt added butter too). Added Old Bay to the shrimp and threw in a Bay leaf for good measure. (Dunk bread into the juices, you will not be disappointed, my hubby was not.) I am freezing the leftover juice for a later adventure. Thank you so much for the recipe! Very good without my additions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I followed Recipe till the end! Then, I tasted them before serving them. Blah....No flavor but butter! Not sure what I was expecting...but was hoping for more spunk. So, we added lots & Lots of fresh ground black pepper,and 2 TBL. of crushed garlic. A couple big shakes of chili powder, heated it up again to let the flavors get together. After an about/face...We all decided it was great! Wish we knew our measurements!!But at least we enjoyed the spicier flavor, and our bagette loved the spicy flavor as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Cox Edge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
How yummy!! I followed the recipe, omitted the salt and added Old Bay. (No need for both, as Old Bay is high in sodium as it is.) I love it when easy recipes are also the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
OH MY....this was delicious!!! We served this over fettucine. I had some leftover roasted asparagus & red peppers and added that! We also added Old Bay. This is definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This is amazing and so fast!! I too used the Old Bay(2 tsp for a half recipe) and 2 cloves of garlic. It was tender and flavorful. This is a rich recipe and made me feel like I was eating out! Good bread for dipping is a must. I will be making a big pot of this to bring to BBQ's this summer. A perfect crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
YUM!! ADDED A TBS. OF OLD BAY AND REDUCED INGREDIENTS TO SERVE 2. THOUGHT SHRIMP WOULD BE TOUGH BUT TURNED OUT PERFECT. DIPPED FRENCH BREAD IN THE SAUCE. REHEATED NEXT DAY ON LOW IN A SKILLET UNTIL JUST HEATED. WILL MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States