Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Alla
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Nita thank you for a good recipe , delish!!! I did almost everything as your recipe told, just did adjusted a little to my taste : old bay, parsley, and garlic ! Came out outstanding!!! My husband loves it!!! Thank you again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I adjusted the recipe for 2 people. It was hard for me to melt a whole stick of butter just for the two of us but I also believe in following recipes to the letter (at least the first time) so did it anyway. This recipe is quite delicious and a welcome change if you want something other than dipping shrimp in cocktail sauce. I have saved leftover butter/beer sauce and will use it tonight w/ linguini. I am not sure whether it would taste as good w/ butter substitute. I look forward to reading future reviews from those who tried a lower calorie alternative. I should have rated it 5 stars for yumminess but gave it 4 stars b/c I still feel guilty about all that butter, lol. yikes! I just looked at the cal/serving and it exceeds 1,000--fat grams are thru the roof also. Won't indulge in this again despite it being absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This recipe was good. The onion/beer/butter give a really good flavor, but I think more seasonings are needed to play up those flavors. We ate thinking that it was good, but we wouldn't even guess so much of the ingredients were used because the flavor was so delicate. It did smell amazing on the stove, and the leftover juice was really good on pasta with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. Not a repeat boil for us but we enjoyed trying it, thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
It was good...but not to rave over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My hubby prepared this for our monthly Family Night dinner and it was a hit! He prepared it exactly as written, used cheap beer and let it sit for a while longer than indicated. The shrimp were tender - mind you we used frozen shrimp - juicy and oh so perfect! Don't let the nutrition facts scare you, the buttery sauce is well worth it. My only suggestion next time would be to try adding some garlic and a little bit more salt to the dish. Other than that, excellent dish and super duper easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is a big hit with our family. I used only 2 sticks butter for 5 lbs. I also added the following spices: 2 TBL Old Bay Seasoning, 1 teaspoon minced garlic, and 2 TBLTony Chachere's. The taste is awesome! I mix all the ingredients execpt for the shrimp. Bring to a boil. Add shrimp for 5 minutes. Once shrimp is cooked, I take the pot off the stove, put the lid on it, and let it sit for about 30 minutes to get the flavors soaked into the shrimp. Delicious! The shrimp does not get rubbery. Serve warm with toasted garlic French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatInFL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was fantastic ... I cut the recipe in 1/2 and the family loved it and devoured the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Served this super easy recipe for the superbowl; they were devoured! As others said, reduced the butter and added Old Bay seasoning, plus some red pepper. Will definitely make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I started out to make this recipe. I had the beer on the counter and wasn't sure if I wanted to add the onions. I ended up using garlic butter (bought at a store called Sprouts)cooked the shrimp in this butter. Then I added lemon juice. It was devine, so I guess I changed the recipe with out even trying. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Fantastic basic recipe. I had this at the Summer Shack in Mohegan Sun Casino. This is what they add in addition to original ingredients. One sliced lemon, 3 celery stalks, garlic and plenty of old bay seasoning. When I tried to duplicate it at home, I only used 1 tbs of Old Bay and it wasn't enough. I will try 2 and 1/2 next time. Definaltely cut back on the butter, I used one stick and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States