Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
this is the very best way to boil shrimp! I had a similar dish at a restaurant when I was a kid...40ish years ago! It's great for a crowd or a couple...I've made it for 2 or a bunch and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslarson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Have made this awesome dish 6-8 times over last few years. The base flavors of shrimp and beer complement each other really well, but each time I've added more and additional flavors...which just made it better until this last batch was slightly over the top with too much Old Bay and red pepper flakes. I use 4 lbs jumbo (16-20/lb) shrimp, several small cloves garlic , 2 sticks butter, 1Tb Old Bay (1+1/2 tb was too much), small amt red pepper flakes, a very large,sweet onion, 4-5 bottles corona beer. At end of cooking I added small amt seasoned salt and cracked pepper. Cook gently to barely done if you intend to save some for next day, so doesn't get rubbery or overdone, and reheat gently. You can add additional beer as needed, and the leftover stock is priceless. A light beer is best, heavier ones add too much competing flavor. Outstanding, loved by one and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I did this recipe but I reduced the butter and put a little dash sweet spicy sauce as I love spice and it comlemented the beer very well. Other than that I tasted the beer and it was good with the shrimp. This was awesome. Thank you very much Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good basic recipe. For 2 servings, I added 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 tbs of old bay and 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. I used 3/4 stick of butter and covered the pot when I turned the heat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was awesome! I haven't read what others did but I added some old bay seasoning (a lot of it) and served with crusty bread to soak up the sauce. All my guests want the recipe including my 16 year old step daughter who can't wait to make it herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Wow. Wow. Wow! By far the best shrimp I have ever tasted. Way better than anything I've had in a restaurant. We cooked half with Old Bay and half with Jamaican Jerk seasoning. Both were incredible. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe. Made this just as it said and I wouldn't change a thing. It was perfect for my taste. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stigler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I had to cut back on the butter due to health reasons and that obviously cut back on the flavor some too BUT I still feel there was something missing that didn't have anything to do with butter. I have since made this for the second time and halved the butter once again but this time added some garlic and some Old Bay and it was perfect. I tasted the beer more this time as well and I always use the same beer for cooking so I'm thinking the Old Bay or either the garlic brought the beer flavor more? Anyway, it was good before but great with my additions. Thanks Nita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, it reminds me a lot of Bubba Gumps' Shrimpin' Dippin' Broth. I used a Czech Pilsner beer and it was really interesting, I used more shrimp just to "dilute" the richness the butter introduces to the dish. Overall, I loved it and will be making again. I am interested though as to know what other kinds of beer did people use?? Thanks! . . . .p.s. great with lots of fresh lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mareadona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I felt this was really bland. I kicked it a bit by: 2 cans a beer ( any beer will do) 1 qt water, 3T hot pepper flakes, 1/4 c of old bay. For the onion, I cut 3 onions in half and allowed them to boil for 10-12 minutes then added my shrimp and boiled until pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States