Beer Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My son and I agree these are the best biscuits I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These had a great store-bought biscuit texture; I could pull it apart the way you do the Pilsbury Grands, layer by layer. It's lacking in flavor, so next time will try making with butter or butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These didn't wow me, but they were pretty tasty. A little on the dry side I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I was expecting this to taste like the very easy sourdough muffins I make with 2 cups bisquick & 1 cup of beer...but this was much, much better...thanks for posting the recipe....will try it as a pizza crust like someone else did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Bynum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a really great biscuit - simple, with a flavor on its own, without over powering other flavors when served with a meal or soup. I used this as an oven baked casserole topping once... very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misanthrope

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe I used 60g salted butter instead of shortening and ommited the added salt. They turned out perfect. We had them at breakfast with jam and for dinner I sliced them in half and used them to make mini pizzas they were a hit both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berryblue031

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The beer is just too strong of a presence and normally I love beer. It seems this biscuit took the bad tastes in beer and magnified them. The aftertaste was salty and bitter. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This also makes a great pizza crust. Just flatten the dough and viola. Very versatile recipe can also be used to make a loaf of bread any way you wanna shape it it will hold up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Used unsalted butter in place of the shortening ... VERY good. These went really well with gravy for breakfast. Bake time ended up being 14 min instead of 10 - 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe's taste and consistency. My boyfriend would have beer with or in every meal if possible, he LOVES the flavor of beer. Personally I don't but I thought I would give this a try for him. The taste was so bad that he only ate one and I only ate half of one and we threw the rest away. (biscuits are his favorite breakfast food and he usually eats 3 or more) The texture was interesting, a bit more chewy and dense than the biscuits I usually make. In the end I gave them 3 stars because they were easy to make (I didn't even roll them out just patted the dough in my hand to the right size). My boyfriends verdict was not to mess with a good thing so from now on I will make my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centertown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States