Beer Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
My husband and I loved these biscuits even more than the beer bread I make. I served them up with beef stew for dinner and cut them into heart shapes. It was a big hit with the family. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
First, the changes I made: I replaced the 1/4 cup shortening with 3/8 cup of margarine. I added around 2 tablespoons of maple syrup (but I didn't end up tasting it). I also made these drop biscuits b\c I'm a lazy person. I used Leinenkugel's Red Lager as my beer. I was very pleasantly surprised with how these turned out! They are a little on the salty side but I think it really works. Some reviewers found the biscuits to be rather dry - and I could see how that could happen but the margarine (and upped dosage) really helped! These have a very buttery taste. I ate them with chili and they were great! Now I can't wait to slather some whipped honey on them to see how they taste with that! While I could taste the beer, I found it to be rather subtle. The beer flavor intensifies as they cool but I think even a beer-loather could appreciate the layer of complexity it adds to the flavor. All in all, a worthy Saturday morning breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
These were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Great recipe! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Schnare Harnish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great! I think I will make some personal pizzas later with this as the dough -- the beer flavor (I used PBR) goes very nicely with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I've made beer biscuits before, and expected these to turn out much the same - tasty, but very dense. Instead, I prepared these exactly as directed and found them to be much lighter than anticipated. I used a very light beer (Tecate) and absolutely minimized the blending and kneading process. I also used fresh baking powder and baked them for only 12 minutes and did not attempt to brown them. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I used a full cup of Blue Moon Ale, brushed the tops with butter, and these turned out delicious. My whole family loves them, even my husband, who isn't much of a bread eater, had thirds! My kids said to use this recipe from now on. Guess its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made these for dinner last night (St. Patrick's Day) and I used a pale Irish ale in them. I added a teaspoon of garlic powder, as well...I'll make these again, but I'll probably reduce the salt to 3/4 of a teaspoon. I didn't roll these out, instead I patted them out to about an inch in thickness and cut them out with a rock glass...perfect size. The beer and baking powder make them rise up beautifully. Thanks for this recipe...it's going to be a fun one to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I am only giving three stars but I think my downfall might have been user error. I followed the recipe exactly, but my biscuits did not rise. They taste GREAT! But they are more like crackers or tea biscuits. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Instead of beer I use milk. Yummy! I use these biscuits for everything now. I've made just plain, cheese and chive, topping for chicken pot pie, and chicken-n-dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States