Beer Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I read previous reviews, and NO, it is NOT too salty!! In fact, I needed to add a ton. I substituted frozen veg for canned and I added 1/2 a minced onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. It was really missing a lot of flavor until I also added a little worshtershire and soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmomie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you. This has got to be one of the best stews we've ever ate (and I'm not a stew person). It was very easy to make and although I added a little bit more spice, it turned out to be great. A huge hit within the family and all our friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I liked this recipe, although it was more like a soup than a stew...there was so much liquid and it was runny, not thick like a stew should be. But, it had great flavor and the whole family liked it! I've made it two or three times now, and there's so much it lasts for at least 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Quick, easy and wonderfully flexible recipe! I followed advice of previous reviewers and cut amounts on both broth and beer, and the consistency came out just right. Also added flour (cut out salt, plenty in broth and tomato sauce/paste) and spice (added curry, my favorite-- See spicy slow-cooker beef stew w/ curry...Mmmm!!) all together in plastic bag and shook to coat. Might leave out the cabbage next time, but it was fine. Thanks for a cold weather keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Great meal. Easy to make with great flavor, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This tasted so good! It did come out a bit runny though.. Next time I won't add so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I was a little disappointed with this recipe, especially since I thought it sounded good for a quick dinner. Too much tomato in this one. I like my beef stew in brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Was very salty. If you make this recipe cut down on the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States