Beer Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I read previous reviews, and NO, it is NOT too salty!! In fact, I needed to add a ton. I substituted frozen veg for canned and I added 1/2 a minced onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. It was really missing a lot of flavor until I also added a little worshtershire and soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmomie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Thank you, thank you, thank you. This has got to be one of the best stews we've ever ate (and I'm not a stew person). It was very easy to make and although I added a little bit more spice, it turned out to be great. A huge hit within the family and all our friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I liked this recipe, although it was more like a soup than a stew...there was so much liquid and it was runny, not thick like a stew should be. But, it had great flavor and the whole family liked it! I've made it two or three times now, and there's so much it lasts for at least 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Quick, easy and wonderfully flexible recipe! I followed advice of previous reviewers and cut amounts on both broth and beer, and the consistency came out just right. Also added flour (cut out salt, plenty in broth and tomato sauce/paste) and spice (added curry, my favorite-- See spicy slow-cooker beef stew w/ curry...Mmmm!!) all together in plastic bag and shook to coat. Might leave out the cabbage next time, but it was fine. Thanks for a cold weather keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Great meal. Easy to make with great flavor, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This tasted so good! It did come out a bit runny though.. Next time I won't add so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stewartsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I was a little disappointed with this recipe, especially since I thought it sounded good for a quick dinner. Too much tomato in this one. I like my beef stew in brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Was very salty. If you make this recipe cut down on the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States