Beer Beef Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I think some of you are using hot sauce instead of chile sauce. Chile sauce is not hot (overly spicy) at all and there is nothing else in this recipe that should add spicy heat to it. Chile sauce is usually found near the ketchup in the grocery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I loved this stew, it was the best stew I have ever had. I added parsnips and peppercorn. Thank you so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
the brown sugar made it too sweet to eat, maybe I'll try again with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very Very Goog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEMORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I thought it was good, but still prefer my traditional stew recipe. I was cleaning out my pantry and had a bottle of beer and a bottle of chili sauce that I wanted to use up. That's why I chose this recipe. I cut back the thyme a little because I know it can over power dishes. I did not flour the meat, but thickened the sauce at the end of cooking. I cooked 2 hours on high and 7 on low and it was perfect. I would have liked more veggies, especially carrots. I also added salt the last half hour. I used Heinz Chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I've made this stew more than once with variations here and there and it's always wonderful. The combination of beer and chili sauce adds a nice touch, and you get different results depending on which kind you use, respectively. This last time I only used 1.5 lb. of meat and upped the vegetables. Five stars, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was VERY GOOD ! I did however use sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes and added water to make more broth. Other than that I followed recipe. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Great stew. My husband said the best stew I had ever made. I used Guiness beer and added a packet of pot roast seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made the "quick" method and the potatoes weren't quite cooked and the meat was kinda chewy = not long enough cooking time. The taste was funny. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great recipe. However, if you are going with the quick route, cook it on high for 3-4 hours. the meat was still a little chewy after two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States