Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Great recipe, highly reccommend this. The only thing I added was a teaspoon of Paprika and a teaspoon of Lawry's seasoning salt. I had a feeling it would be bland without seasoning (several of the reviewers were commenting on that). This really made a difference. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
THIS RECIPE WAS DELICIOUS! I WAS SHOCKED BECAUSE I DO NOT LIKE THE TASTE OF BEER, BUT IT SOMEHOW GAVE A GOOD FLAVOR TO THE CHICKEN. EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY LIKED IT. I DID SPRINKLE THE CHICKEN WITH GARLIC POWDER AND SEASONING SALT FOR AN EXTRA BAM! THANKS NATHAN FOR THE RECIPE. I THINK IT WILL BE A FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I have made this twice and it is great. However, I did add some hot wing powder to the dredging flour. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Very good. Customizable easy and delish. Notes on batter frying. let the flour rest in the batter at least 20 minutes in the fridge. Half the comments about bland and floury probably are eliminated by letting it rest - almost any time you add a fat or liquid to flour you want to let it set. (and baking powder, not Soda - PLEASE) MAKER SURE to get the excess batter off, let it drain, shake it...whatever. Batter is not like flour-egg-flour. It'll be too much if you just batter it and drop it into the fryer. If you want season either season the batter (not the dredging flour) or sprinkle you Paul Prudhomme or what have you IMMEDIATELY after it comes out of the oil and no one will say bland again (that way you can also season separately for kids and adults). I used thighs because chix breats have no flavour and it worked fine. If the chicken isn't cooking, wrap it in foil and bake for 5-10 minutes...it'll be just fine. Great and easy recipe for batter fried that can be changed for your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
love this recipe! i did add more beer to it. This recipe will come out the way you make it come out if you buy a cheap beer it will not be as flavorful. I've made this with Sam Adam's beer and also Harpoons IPA. They have the same batter consistancy as Chinese chicken fingers. theyre verrry good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
wow this was amazing, we had beer battered shrimp at a local restaurant and i was looking to try something new along the same lines as that. this recipe really hit the spot!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This recipe tasted absolutely wonderful. It was a really nice way to do chicken since I eat it like 3 times a week. I did forget to cut the chicken into strips, and it still tasted wonderful. Definetly a winner. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Fantastic!! This is the first time I've tried this kind of recipe and it came out restaurant quality! I used more beer to thin the batter out a little, added some spices, and followed everything that SMPARSONS said on 1/13/05. Oh, I also only used 1 cup of oil instead of 3. I don't know if it made it any healthier, but at least I didn't use all that oil needlessly. Great, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I started using this recipe a few months ago but just now getting around to writing a review! :) I use this recipe at least once every two weeks to make sweet and sour chicken. It is excellent! (The sauce I use is Uncle Bill's Sweet and Sour Sauce from this website also)I have a deep fryer and it makes this very quick and simple to make. The chicken tastes really great with the sauce, but it also tastes great on its own. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I did not make any changes to the recipe. It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States