Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Very good. Customizable easy and delish. Notes on batter frying. let the flour rest in the batter at least 20 minutes in the fridge. Half the comments about bland and floury probably are eliminated by letting it rest - almost any time you add a fat or liquid to flour you want to let it set. (and baking powder, not Soda - PLEASE) MAKER SURE to get the excess batter off, let it drain, shake it...whatever. Batter is not like flour-egg-flour. It'll be too much if you just batter it and drop it into the fryer. If you want season either season the batter (not the dredging flour) or sprinkle you Paul Prudhomme or what have you IMMEDIATELY after it comes out of the oil and no one will say bland again (that way you can also season separately for kids and adults). I used thighs because chix breats have no flavour and it worked fine. If the chicken isn't cooking, wrap it in foil and bake for 5-10 minutes...it'll be just fine. Great and easy recipe for batter fried that can be changed for your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
The recipe was very easy to follow and was easier to cook. The only problem was that the batter was bland so I had to spice it up a bit with salt, pepper, more beer and garlic powder. I will use this recipe again and try different things with it. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I like a light batter, and while this one was not quite light enough, I just added a bit more beer to make the batter the consistency I wanted and it worked well. I also added some Montreal STEAK seasoning to my second batch, which brought the flavor of the chicken out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitzgerald, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This is unfortunately a recipe which I'm rating on this site with which I was not impressed. I had high expectations for this and it turned out anything but what I expected. The "beer" part of it seemed inviting, however it was a LOT of MESSY work and after frying, the coating came out very dry and bland. The coating wouldn't cook through for the life of it so it took a really long time. It quickly became a leftover to the next day and at that point when I microwaved it, it just became soggy and gross so I had to throw it out... Not really worth the hassle with the mess, when I could have made another chicken recipe faster, better tasting and generally more worth my time :-(.... Don't think I'll be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I have been using this recipe for a few months and it is something both my husband and I enjoy and the leftover batter is just enough for a side of fried mushrooms. However, we always add salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder to the 1/2 cup of flour used for dredging, and usually end up using about 3/4ths of a cup of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
If I made this recipe again I would add at least salt if not pepper to the flour. The flavor was kind of bland. The batter was not crunchy but I think that was me not the recipe. I think the oil has to be the right temp. to get it crunchy. I would make it again and try different temp's for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and added seasoning. I added Cajun seasoning to both the batter and to the flour mixture. They were really really good. I made these for my picky kids and they totally loved them as did my DH who kept coming in to get more ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This recipe was not at all what I thought it would be. It did not turn out crispy. It was more like soft bread. It turned out to be a wonderful golden color making you think it would be nice and crispy. My temperature setting for the oil was accurate and fried for the proper amount of time. The taste was like eating paper. There was no taste. I could add a large amount of seasonings, but I don't think that I will be making this again for fear of wasting more flour, , seasonings, eggs, and beer. I will stick to my mother's secret method of frying chicken. It has some wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I used this batter for shrimp in my Fry Daddy with the additions of garlic and onion powders and cayenne pepper. A nice Asian dipping sauce helped to make this a great appetizer! Thanks Nathan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I have made this twice and it is great. However, I did add some hot wing powder to the dredging flour. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States