Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
If I made this recipe again I would add at least salt if not pepper to the flour. The flavor was kind of bland. The batter was not crunchy but I think that was me not the recipe. I think the oil has to be the right temp. to get it crunchy. I would make it again and try different temp's for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
The chicken was very bland. I had to dip it in barbecue sauce or soy sauce to add flavor. It was also very messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I like a light batter, and while this one was not quite light enough, I just added a bit more beer to make the batter the consistency I wanted and it worked well. I also added some Montreal STEAK seasoning to my second batch, which brought the flavor of the chicken out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitzgerald, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
The recipe was very easy to follow and was easier to cook. The only problem was that the batter was bland so I had to spice it up a bit with salt, pepper, more beer and garlic powder. I will use this recipe again and try different things with it. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I have been using this recipe for a few months and it is something both my husband and I enjoy and the leftover batter is just enough for a side of fried mushrooms. However, we always add salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder to the 1/2 cup of flour used for dredging, and usually end up using about 3/4ths of a cup of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I have made this twice and it is great. However, I did add some hot wing powder to the dredging flour. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe was great...but definately needed some spice to it. I added cajun seasoning to the flour. Every wanted seconds. This recipe is also great w/shrimp as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
The batter turned out great! The only thing i would change is that it needs seasoning. My husband and I both enjoyed this and he is in the restaurant business. Will will try this again, only kicking it up with some cajun spice. Nice recipe Nathan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I used this batter for shrimp in my Fry Daddy with the additions of garlic and onion powders and cayenne pepper. A nice Asian dipping sauce helped to make this a great appetizer! Thanks Nathan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This recipe was not at all what I thought it would be. It did not turn out crispy. It was more like soft bread. It turned out to be a wonderful golden color making you think it would be nice and crispy. My temperature setting for the oil was accurate and fried for the proper amount of time. The taste was like eating paper. There was no taste. I could add a large amount of seasonings, but I don't think that I will be making this again for fear of wasting more flour, , seasonings, eggs, and beer. I will stick to my mother's secret method of frying chicken. It has some wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States