Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I did not find it in any way bland. Probably because it doesn't take much to know if something is going to be too bland for your taste just by looking at the recipe. I used 1 cup of liquid, a few generous dashes of garlic powder, two dashes of tobasco, and voila...perfect. I also didn't find the cooking process messy because I us a small deep fryer for this sort of thing. I put the batter bowl right next to the fryer for no dripping. It was very easy clean up. Don't let the bland reviewers discourage you. Just add some of your fave seasonings, and the tobasco was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Fantastic!! This is the first time I've tried this kind of recipe and it came out restaurant quality! I used more beer to thin the batter out a little, added some spices, and followed everything that SMPARSONS said on 1/13/05. Oh, I also only used 1 cup of oil instead of 3. I don't know if it made it any healthier, but at least I didn't use all that oil needlessly. Great, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
We weren't thrilled with this batter at all. I let the batter rest for about 40 minutes before using it and there was absolutely no flavour to it, even though I added additional spice (some cayenne, seasoning salt etc). I forgot to flour the chicken before dipping it in the batter, and it turned out just fine...none of the batter fell off. This dish was bland and boring, so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I've used this recipe twice now..the first time I made it to the tee, and it was BLAH! The second time I made it, I followed everyones advice on putting season in the batter. I still thought it was BLAH. it does have good texture but tastes blah. I might have to stay with the good old Drakes mix from the store. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Recipe was very bland. And it was very messy! I usually don't fry so maybe I'm just partial but I really didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This recipe tasted absolutely wonderful. It was a really nice way to do chicken since I eat it like 3 times a week. I did forget to cut the chicken into strips, and it still tasted wonderful. Definetly a winner. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Pretty quick and easy. Need to add LOTS of spice for the flavor to really come out. My daughter loved it and the breading wasn't very thick. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I found the coating was thick and hard to work with, and also did not have very much taste. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Very good. Customizable easy and delish. Notes on batter frying. let the flour rest in the batter at least 20 minutes in the fridge. Half the comments about bland and floury probably are eliminated by letting it rest - almost any time you add a fat or liquid to flour you want to let it set. (and baking powder, not Soda - PLEASE) MAKER SURE to get the excess batter off, let it drain, shake it...whatever. Batter is not like flour-egg-flour. It'll be too much if you just batter it and drop it into the fryer. If you want season either season the batter (not the dredging flour) or sprinkle you Paul Prudhomme or what have you IMMEDIATELY after it comes out of the oil and no one will say bland again (that way you can also season separately for kids and adults). I used thighs because chix breats have no flavour and it worked fine. If the chicken isn't cooking, wrap it in foil and bake for 5-10 minutes...it'll be just fine. Great and easy recipe for batter fried that can be changed for your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I rated this as a 4 since my husband liked it even though I did not. I just didn't like the texture and thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States