Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Really Oily. Not too bad, but too fattening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I really have mixed feelings about this recipe. On one hand, it is a good basic recipe which can be easily modified with different seasonings and ingredients, and it is also easy to prepare. However, I felt it was too messy and time consuming and wasn't good enough to replace frozen chicken tenders. I used a combination of beers and also added ALOT of additional seasoning. The taste and consistency of the batter was good, but it made a colossal mess of my deep fryer and took forever. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Easy recipe! Good results, used old bay and Honey in the batter. Use a strong beer, light beer leaves no flavor. We used this recipe for catfish, excellent!!! Chef Marian Thompson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Being retired I am now the chief cook. This was a very good meal and easy to prepare and with everyone looking for a repeat, it must be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Absolutely Wonderful!!!! This is the best way that I have had chicken! Thank You So Much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I made this the other night but zoned the dredging in flour before battering part. Also, I added Tabasco and Goya Garlic and Pepper seasoning to the batter. Since I did the beer batter thing on a whim, I had already sliced the chicken into smaller strips and sprinkled with a dry packet of Hidden Valley Ranch salad dressing mix and let it sit in the fridge for 8 hours. It was amazing. On a side note, we are import drinkers so we used a full cup of Molson Golden...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I liked it! I did add a lot of seasonings and I also added a little hot sauce to the batter like someone had suggested. I think the only thing that this recipe needs is a really good dipping sauce...i served it with sweet & sour sauce and ranch mixed with a little hot sauce. It was good but I think it needs a sauce that will bring out the flavor of the chicken and beer...But all in all I loved the recipe and so did my family!!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
while the beer batter will taste like beer it will never be a beer batter per say depending on the type of beer. victoria bitter or any other cultivated yeast beer will give a greater beer flavour and instant batter but is not correct. coopers brand or sediment beer brewed using live yeasts will enhance the batter and give a much more unique flavour, althought this will take time to set, up to 3-4 hours in a cool dry place. but like we chefs say 'always sacrifice time for flavour'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe like this ... battered chicken tenders like you get at Chili's, not just the breadcrumb kind I had been making at home. And this is it as far as texture! This is good, but as other reviewers said, it definitely needs salt and other seasonings. I put probably a full teaspoon of Lawry's season salt in the flour, but it still wasn't enough. Next time I'll try some in the batter. I floured the chicken in a zip lock bag (easy!), and I had to add at LEAST another half cup, if not more, of liquid to the batter. (I added some water as well as more beer.) After that, it was much easier to cook. It was crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. However, a little hard to judge when the chicken is fully cooked. Thanks, Nathan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
it's easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States