Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
the breading didnt have much flavor and was a little bit soggy, not crispy like I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Quite delicious! I made a few changes: I'm using up leftover turkey & I substituted leftover wine for the beer. And, seeing that turkey tends toward the bland, I put half a teaspoon of salt, ditto paprika, a shake of black pepper & a dash of Tabasco sauce in the mix. It was light, crisp & delectable: my son wants me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Love this recipe! I have a hard time believing anyone would think these strips would magically season themselves with Flour, Beer, Eggs & baking powder!?! However for the batter texture it was awesome!I can't love this recipe enough! I do add a bit more beer to the batter and I do agree with letting it sit while prepping other food for at least 20-30 minutes. I suppose it should be written in that seasoning your chicken & batter are a given. This recipe can be kicked up or toned down. Honestly any way you could imagine :) We have made it with BBQ rubs, buffalo seasoning, Parm added before batter the list goes on & on. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandigrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This turned out well. A couple of things we changed was the amount of beer, we upped it to 1c, we also added 2 tablespoons of Old Bay to the liquid batter and just for good measure we added a little Old Bay to the dry flour too. It was good except our beer choice was a little strong but I think it made it better, if I use the same beer I might scale it back to 3/4c. If you do use this as directed it will be bland it needs spice there is just too much FLOUR and flour is bland without anything in it. Also the kind of beer makes a huge DIFFERENCE. I'm sure using something like Pabst is going to make the batter bitter and most wont like it, so its worth getting a higher grade beer not some cheep stuff just because you are cooking with it. Use a beer you like if you like beer, which I don't but I like the beer we got. It was a little oily but what do you expect you are frying in fat, thus the invention called paper towels. I have a bad stomach and can't take much grease but this was tasty, I know I'm going to pay for it though it was worth it. Also you need to keep the oil at a lower temp if you are stove top cooking as it will burn and the inside will not cook all the way through. Cooking at a lower temp is almost always the key to stop things from burning. This might have turned out better in a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiakatz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was a very easy to follow recipe. However it was bland but i felt it still had a good taste to it. It was just missing something.. So on the remaining batter i added seasoning of my choice and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
as SMPARSONS related....let batter rest....also i like to soak my chicken in salt water for a min of 2 hrs--overnight....this way the chicken can soak up some flavor and also i believe this "cleans" it a little better then just rinsing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was good, but (I agree) a bit bland and flour-y. I did what another use suggested and let the ingredients sit in the fridge together, it just comes down to the fact that something is just OFF in this recipe and I can't right it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Conrad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and added seasoning. I added Cajun seasoning to both the batter and to the flour mixture. They were really really good. I made these for my picky kids and they totally loved them as did my DH who kept coming in to get more ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I added some garlic powder salt and pepper and let it rest in the fridge for about 30 minutes prior to cooking. My family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda MacCuish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This batter is to heavy as is, I thinned it down with more beer in the batter. Added some seasonnings of my own, that made it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States