Beer Battered Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Pretty quick and easy. Need to add LOTS of spice for the flavor to really come out. My daughter loved it and the breading wasn't very thick. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I found the coating was thick and hard to work with, and also did not have very much taste. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Very good. Customizable easy and delish. Notes on batter frying. let the flour rest in the batter at least 20 minutes in the fridge. Half the comments about bland and floury probably are eliminated by letting it rest - almost any time you add a fat or liquid to flour you want to let it set. (and baking powder, not Soda - PLEASE) MAKER SURE to get the excess batter off, let it drain, shake it...whatever. Batter is not like flour-egg-flour. It'll be too much if you just batter it and drop it into the fryer. If you want season either season the batter (not the dredging flour) or sprinkle you Paul Prudhomme or what have you IMMEDIATELY after it comes out of the oil and no one will say bland again (that way you can also season separately for kids and adults). I used thighs because chix breats have no flavour and it worked fine. If the chicken isn't cooking, wrap it in foil and bake for 5-10 minutes...it'll be just fine. Great and easy recipe for batter fried that can be changed for your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I rated this as a 4 since my husband liked it even though I did not. I just didn't like the texture and thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
love this recipe! i did add more beer to it. This recipe will come out the way you make it come out if you buy a cheap beer it will not be as flavorful. I've made this with Sam Adam's beer and also Harpoons IPA. They have the same batter consistancy as Chinese chicken fingers. theyre verrry good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Liked very much. Very simple. The batter was thick but didn't seem heavy after eating, actually light. Probably because I used vegetable oil. Was a little bland but will add spices next time. I have heard that adding cornstarch makes it crispier. Will try that next time and let you know how it works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This recipe was very frustrating. The batter was extremely thick making it hard to fully cook the chicken. My husband ended up picking away at the outside to eat the chicken inside...I'll pass on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
THIS RECIPE WAS DELICIOUS! I WAS SHOCKED BECAUSE I DO NOT LIKE THE TASTE OF BEER, BUT IT SOMEHOW GAVE A GOOD FLAVOR TO THE CHICKEN. EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY LIKED IT. I DID SPRINKLE THE CHICKEN WITH GARLIC POWDER AND SEASONING SALT FOR AN EXTRA BAM! THANKS NATHAN FOR THE RECIPE. I THINK IT WILL BE A FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
i'ts so Good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Good texture and easy to make. It's a little bland, but that's nothing a few spices can't cure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAKEGODDES

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States