Beer Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Make it equal parts beer and flour and it works. As written, the batter is too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Great basic recipe. I add different spices depending on what I am frying. The batter is crispy while the inside is soft. My husband loves it when I use this on tilapia filets and french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Adrienne Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Dredge in flour, use garlic salt instead of garlic powder, and add a pinch of sugar to help make the batter crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Austin Klingele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Did the dredge in flour and then dip...it was SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynsey Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It was very light in flavor. I added a dash of paprika and dill. I used the tip about dredging in flour first. I used this recipe because I didn't have the breading I normally use. I will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Savin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
With the addition of a little salt this is the best light crispy batter we have ever found. It was heavenly for our Canadian Walleye dinner tonight. My husband used Labatt Blue, a Canadian beer, in the batter and seasoning salt for more flavor. It was wonderful and will be our family favorite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This batter is NOT recommended if you use a fryer. It stuck straight to the basket and never let go. It was good though... as I could testify from eating the little bits of batter that were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francois Tremblay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Love it! I added some other seasonings but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This worked great for fried cod. I added a teaspoon salt to the batter. Perfect with it, I really think it would have been bland without it. All I had in the house was a light beer which really didn't lend any beer taste to the batter, which was ok with me, even though we do enjoy the beer taste in the batter. So use a regular/stout beer if you enjoy the taste or a light beer if you prefer not to taste that. The batter seemed quite thin so I added a couple tablespoons more flour to thicken up just a tad. I suppose cutting back on beer would have worked as well. I followed others advice on dredging the fish in flour prior to dipping in the batter. Not sure if it made a difference or not but the batter stayed put on the fish and finished up with a nice golden coating when fried. This was a light, crispy batter even after sitting, and was not greasy in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by wbruni
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Wonderful batter! I thickened to my likeness with flour and battered walleye fish, fresh green peppers and onion rings. Everything was super crispy and delish! Will make for every time we fry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States