Beer Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Make sure the beer is warm and flat. Also I added 1/4 tsp of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Used this batter for fish and onion rings. I thought it looked bland so I kicked it up a notch. Doubled the amount of garlic powder, added some salt, cayenne pepper, and a dash of curry powder. This turned out perfect and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
The best I've come across!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinsdancer
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
The recipe is o.k but let me add something to it that makes it even better. The ratio is one cup of flour to one cup of beer. For every one cup of flour add 1/4 cup of either Bisquik mix or better yet, buttermilk pancake mix. Best beer to use is on the menus' of thousand's of restaurants Sam Adams. Garlic is right and pepper is right, salt not needed, the beer has salt in it. Add a dab of paprika and Add one extra egg if you used the pancake mix. I put a pinch of old bay seasoning in the mix with two table spoons of honey a few times and others loved it. but the most important thing is to let the batter sit in the frige for about 2-3 hours first. If you are using a strong gamier fish like swia, soak the fish in either buttermilk or regular milk for 4-6 hours before you cook. Trust me this recipe addition is da bomb man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Awesome batter on whatever your gonna fry! I've had it on fish, awesome and I've fried deer backstrap with it, it was also awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Simple, how it is supposed to be. I tried as the recipe suggested and while one piece of fish was frying added a little more flour to the batter for the next fish to enter. The way the recipe says is better,the first fish in... Just leave the fish in till golden exterior and drain on a wire rack. Nice crispy exterior on the first, second a little more soggy (maybe it wasn't in long enough or cuz I added more flour). What I did though, was season while on the rack instead of the batter. Ground sea salt and ground lemon pepper. I also seasoned my house made tartar with Old Bay. (Tartar: Squeeze of lime, Mayo and sweet relish, Old Bay) Used a Samuel Adams Tasman red IPA and some bagged frozen Alaskan Cod (thawed) from Costco and it turned out epic. Better fish than the fish and chips at my work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Savage

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Great but if you wisk the egg white and carefully fold it in to the final flower mix the result is 5 star KeenKook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Very easy taste great! I used shrimp so I added 1/2 tsp old bay seasoning and fresh ground pepper. Sprinkled corn starch on so the batter would stick. The hotter the oil the better. Nice lite batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
OK, I've read all the suggestions and have my own to add. I've used this for many years and always get requests for a fish fry. First open a can of light beer day before and leave out to get stale. Next day somewhat dry your fish, leave moist. In a one gallon size zip lock bag put in a cup or two of dry fish batter (I use the brand made in Toledo, Oh.) and add a table spoon of Old Bay seasoning and shake to mix. In shallow bowl, mix more batter with the stale beer to a soupy consistency. Your deep fryer should be at least set at 375 degrees. Add 4-5 fillets to bag and shake, then drudge the fillets through the beer batter and fry until they rise to top or golden brown. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambertville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe was phenomenal, earning rave reviews from my wife, our guest and I. I used a Sam Adams Lite in the recipe, and it gave the batter fantastic density and flavor. Word of advice, add a twist of lemon to the fish after it is fried; my wife couldn't say enough to that little zest I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States