Beer Batter Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This recipe is incredibly simple and delicious. The beer we used was a coffee stout, and I had no milk so we used eggnog instead. I didn't have to add the 12 fluid ounces of beer. More like 9 oz. but it turned out incredible, the perfect crunch with fluffy and somewhat bubbly interior. Beautiful spiced roundness with the eggnog and coffee stout additions. Also I use applesauce in place of the butter, Same amount it calls for. A definite addition to my collection of recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by givemeyourshoes
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The wife and I tried this today. We did not have self rising flour, so I, as suggested in other reviews, we added 1tsp of salt and one 1tbsp baking powder. We used sour cream instead of milk. For the beer we used Boulder Brewing' Chocolate Shake. A bit of the chocolate flavor came through. If the 5 stars didn't giver it away already, this recipe is fantastic. The waffles turned out amazing. We used a thin n crispy waffle iron for ours, but I would imagine these would work well in a belgian waffle iron too. I highly recommend making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made these last night using Shiner Ruby Redbird, which is a grapefruit and ginger beer from here in Texas, and they've definitely become my go to insert-beverage-here waffles. Using a brand new waffle maker of unexplored abilities, the outsides were nice and crisp and the insides were soft and fluffy. I got ten 4 x 4 Belgian style waffles using slightly more than 1/4 cup per waffle. Textures inside and out were perfect - this is without beating the egg whites, and halving the butter. I think anything Belgian/white/wheat/lighter/not things college kids drink would be tasty in this waffle. You could definitely smell the beer as they were cooking, and the flavor came through a bit, but not so much as to be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I also followed the recipe and was disappointed when I couldn't get them to cook all the way through on my waffle iron. They were limp and soggy. I ended up taking the leftover batter and making crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Absolutely the best waffle recipe that I have ever found. Every other recipe either in the box or hand made tastes like you are eating a pancake. These have great flavor and have a crisp sweet outer shell. Two thumbs way up on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These were not good, they were not crispy at all, the batter was thin. I used Heinekin light beer and I'm guessing that's what gave them a bad flavor. Waste of ingredients. Will not make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I hate to rate this so low, it gets a star because they were edible and another star because of the ease of the recipe, but these were not at all crispy even after putting them directly on the oven rack, nothing would toast or crisp these up. They also had a weird taste, I think it was a remnant of the beer, my dd said they tasted like bananas. Overall not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great on a snowy day!! Used regular flour with 1 Tbl baking powder and 1 tsp salt, used canola oil rather than butter. Light, crisp edges, and very tastie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Deliciously flavorable! Agreed that these aren't so crunchy, but I'll work on that. Only change I made was to add a teaspoon of cinnamon. I used Straub Beer, a small brewery in St. Mary's, PA, which uses natural ingredients and no preservatives. It is a lightish beer. I didn't have any syrup on hand, so I decided to work with what I had on hand that one collects to be creative with--now was the time. I heated some peach-rhubarb jam in the microwave and threw some pomegranate seeds on top. Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Economy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States