Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is by far one of the better beer batter recipes out there. I did end up adding more beer to give mine more of a pancake batter type of consistancy, and if you don't have a favorite dipping sauce, you'll want to add something more for flavor. I ended up using some Walla Walla sweet onions and it turned out great! One tip... rather than drudging the onion before dipping it, I just threw my sliced onions in a gallon size bag with the flour and gave them all a good shake at the same time, it really cut down the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is wonderful recipe. The batter must be of pancake batter consistancy. So add extra beer as needed. Recipe as written is good. But on our second batch we decided to add some spices to see if it would make them more flavorfull. We really enjoyed them better with the spices. We added some paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, red pepper, extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
absolute decadence! the batter was like fine gold! i had to keep adding more beer to the batter- i guess it couldn't handle our Canadian brew EH? this recipe will be a keeper when in the mood for artery clogging food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This works well, I ended up dipping them in flour, then batter, then flour again, then batter again, and they came out beautifully crunchy. First time frying onions; next time would use more spices in the flour/batter/both :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Best. Onion Rings. Ever. LOVED EM! Thank you for this easy delicious recipe! I had to add more beer like the others but boy was it worth it. I'm embarrassed to admit that I didn't have enough onion so I dunked a turkey sandwich in the batter and deep fried it like a Bennigans Monte Cristo. And it was soooooo good. I think I've fulfilled my fried food quota for the next six months after what I ate today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Delicious! I would make it again. It is light and crispy, and addictive...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I have to admit, I was afraid to make these...I hadn't deep-fried anything before, but these turned out fabulous! Easy easy easy to make. I did use about twice the amount of beer than called for. I used Heineken but I think the next time, I will use Nut Brown Ale, as the beer flavor didn't come through very strong. No leftovers, it all went fast and now they are having me make more this week! **Update** I made them again with Newcastle Nut Brown Ale and you could taste the beer more, it had a deeper flavor. I will make them with the Nut Brown Ale from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Excellent batter! I added a ton more beer to make it thinner. Made this for a fish fry and received a ton of compliments. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This is the BEST beer-batter recipe we have ever used. EVERYTHING tastes so GREAT...crispy nad light. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Ok, maybe my onions were too big?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States