Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is by far one of the better beer batter recipes out there. I did end up adding more beer to give mine more of a pancake batter type of consistancy, and if you don't have a favorite dipping sauce, you'll want to add something more for flavor. I ended up using some Walla Walla sweet onions and it turned out great! One tip... rather than drudging the onion before dipping it, I just threw my sliced onions in a gallon size bag with the flour and gave them all a good shake at the same time, it really cut down the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This works well, I ended up dipping them in flour, then batter, then flour again, then batter again, and they came out beautifully crunchy. First time frying onions; next time would use more spices in the flour/batter/both :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is wonderful recipe. The batter must be of pancake batter consistancy. So add extra beer as needed. Recipe as written is good. But on our second batch we decided to add some spices to see if it would make them more flavorfull. We really enjoyed them better with the spices. We added some paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, red pepper, extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Really good! I also used quite a bit more beer than the recipe called for - like a bottle and a half. The onion rings were light and crispy. I can't wait to try it with zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I didn't like this recipe at all. The batter came out more like a dough so I had to add way more beer. I guess I'll keep looking for a beer batter for onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmella
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Wonderful. Light, and fluffy. It is a keeper. My only suggestion would be to alter the recipe so that the flour used for dregging is listed 1st, then the rest for the batter. For a new cook, it could be confusing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cherry Valley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I have to admit, I was afraid to make these...I hadn't deep-fried anything before, but these turned out fabulous! Easy easy easy to make. I did use about twice the amount of beer than called for. I used Heineken but I think the next time, I will use Nut Brown Ale, as the beer flavor didn't come through very strong. No leftovers, it all went fast and now they are having me make more this week! **Update** I made them again with Newcastle Nut Brown Ale and you could taste the beer more, it had a deeper flavor. I will make them with the Nut Brown Ale from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I feel bad for giving such a bad rating but I have to agree with the review ihopethatsnotacricket. The batter was very thick, didn't stick, and had no flavor. They tasted like onions coated in plain flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My husband and I both thought this batter was extremely good! It has a very good taste. It was quite messy though! The only problem I had while deep frying these were a couple of them stuck to my basket and burnt. So when I made my second batch I made sure I kept shaking the basket now and then and used a utensil to sir them a little. All in all, this is a great recipe for a delicious batter I am sure I will use time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very good, even though I did not do the egg white part. I will next time to see the difference. I just mixed the eggs with the beer, added salt and paprika then the flour. I did not used the butter either. Deep fried them and they were great. I also used more beer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States