Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is fabulous, just the recipe I was looking for! I did end up using more beer than called for, like others, but I usually use the liquid called for as a guide, adjusting more or less as necessary. I thought this recipe was perfect just as is. I didn't change the seasonings at all. I froze most of the recipe, reheating them on a heat-safe cake rack in the oven. Not as good as freshly made, but still very yummy without all the mess. This recipe is terrific, and works great for just about any vegetable. You MUST try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Oh my goodness, these were so good! Will have to be a special treat though, because they are a lot of work. Also, I had to nearly double the beer but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is the best batter I've ever made. It was a bit of work but well worth it. The onion rings came out so light and crispy. But I had so much batter left. I think the next time I'll only make a half recipe because there is only my husband and I. Wonder if this batter can be frozen? I doubt it though, seems like it would turn watery when thawed. Anyone ever tried to freeze the remaining batter? Thanks LaDonna for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Boy, I sure hope that not everyone's turns out this bad!! First of all I was trying to coat cheese cubes. Well, it didnt work! The batter tasted bland to begin with and second it didnt stick to them. The "batter" looked more like taffy. I followed the directions exactly, but something HAD to be wrong... KEEP LOOKING for a different recipe! It just tastes bland and makes a mess and wastes a perfectly good beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Best. Onion Rings. Ever. LOVED EM! Thank you for this easy delicious recipe! I had to add more beer like the others but boy was it worth it. I'm embarrassed to admit that I didn't have enough onion so I dunked a turkey sandwich in the batter and deep fried it like a Bennigans Monte Cristo. And it was soooooo good. I think I've fulfilled my fried food quota for the next six months after what I ate today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe didn't have alot of reviews but the ones it did have were great. I agree this is the best onion ring recipe I have ever tried or ever eaten for that matter.My husband said keep cooking these are great. My neighbor was over, she sliced a large onion and made a plateful for her and her husband, they loved them too. This recipe is definitely a keeper for 2 families now. No more searching, this is perfect, mouth watering and delicious!! Thanks LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is the best batter for onion rings, eggplant, mushrooms, zucchini, squash, etc. I've tried many over the years and my husband likes this one best. Just keep adding beer until it is pourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Excellent batter! I added a ton more beer to make it thinner. Made this for a fish fry and received a ton of compliments. Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Delicious! I would make it again. It is light and crispy, and addictive...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Ok, maybe my onions were too big?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States