Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This came out a little bland so I ended up adding a lot of seson salt trying to bring out the flavor. I did love the end result of the batter. I will defenitly use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
OH SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Not good for deep fryers, sticks to the basket too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonshepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was a great recipe!!!!! I too had to add alot more beer to the mixture but otherwise they were fantastic. Also, if you find they are lacking a little flavor just salt them once you remove them from the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good recipe. The batter turn out very thick, so I ended up putting the whole can of beer in the batter to make it thinner. I did not add the salt because of the butter. Instead I added coarse ground pepper. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is by far one of the better beer batter recipes out there. I did end up adding more beer to give mine more of a pancake batter type of consistancy, and if you don't have a favorite dipping sauce, you'll want to add something more for flavor. I ended up using some Walla Walla sweet onions and it turned out great! One tip... rather than drudging the onion before dipping it, I just threw my sliced onions in a gallon size bag with the flour and gave them all a good shake at the same time, it really cut down the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This works well, I ended up dipping them in flour, then batter, then flour again, then batter again, and they came out beautifully crunchy. First time frying onions; next time would use more spices in the flour/batter/both :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is wonderful recipe. The batter must be of pancake batter consistancy. So add extra beer as needed. Recipe as written is good. But on our second batch we decided to add some spices to see if it would make them more flavorfull. We really enjoyed them better with the spices. We added some paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, red pepper, extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Really good! I also used quite a bit more beer than the recipe called for - like a bottle and a half. The onion rings were light and crispy. I can't wait to try it with zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I didn't like this recipe at all. The batter came out more like a dough so I had to add way more beer. I guess I'll keep looking for a beer batter for onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States