Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
These were great! I added seasonings like the others. I'm going to up the garlic powder and paprika next time. Wife and kids thought they were the best onion rings ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
The amount of beer depends on what type of beer you are using. When we used dark beer we used about 50% more, but when we used the light beer the recipe was spot on. I think it tastes better when made with darker beer, and the batter is less dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
As others suggested, I used more beer than called for in the recipe. I used one full bottle --would have used more, but that's all I had left. These onion rings turned out very good, using 2 medium-sized Vidalia onions. It made just enough as a side dish to burgers for a family of 6. Next time, I will add some seasoning to the batter; it could use a little salty/spicy to complement to sweetness of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made this recipe and everyone in my house agreed that there was no flavor. I put almost 2 cans of beer plus some extra spices. It just had no flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Pretty good...could really use some more seasoning, though. Next time I'd maybe add some salt/pepper/onion powder/etc into the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
These were so yummy!! We added season salt & garlic salt into the batter before frying; tasted a little bland without it. Tried with both white & yellow onions and liked yellow the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These were really good! Will keep the recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Really good, a big hit. I also needed more beer (approx 18 fl oz/1.5 bottles of Bass Ale) to keep a consistency suitable for dipping. Added some onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and black pepper to the batter in addition to the salt. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Made these for a New Year's Eve party and they were so good! I used Bud Light beer; I think I'll use something stronger next time. Served these with "spicy fry sauce" from this site. Making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This came out a little bland so I ended up adding a lot of seson salt trying to bring out the flavor. I did love the end result of the batter. I will defenitly use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States