Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed it almost exactly. My only tweak was that I used a whole bottle of Guinness and a bit of water. I took another reviewer's advice that the batter should resemble pancake batter. This was a good call. The onion rings came out perfectly, and we even had them for leftovers the next day. (I reheated them at 400 degrees F, for about ten minutes until they were crispy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
With the recipe as printed, I got dough rather than batter, but after adding the rest of the can of beer, these turned out fairly well. They definitley need some seasoning salt or something mixed in with the flour, but they were awesomely crispy. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Batter came out too thick and was unable to use it. I checked the amounts and ingredients several times but i followed the recipe. I'd try something else instead next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Acceptable, nothing more. It really didn't taste like anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
i did not care for this recipe and would have given it a 3 but my brother liked it and thought it should get a four. it needed a lot more beer than called for and a lot more seasoning as it was very bland. we added garlic powder, salt, pepper, chilli powder, and paprika. we also battered some sweet potato which was quite tasty and different. overall, the recipe needed so many changes that i will prob try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
i was very displeased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I've never cooked onion rings before, but by the time I tasted the first one, I could tell this was a recipe to keep! I also wound up adding extra beer as the batter was too thick, but it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I was looking for a great batter recipe. I tried this and I love it. I did add some pepper and garlic salt just cause I put it in everything I cook. I used this recipe for mushrooms too and it was fantastic. Easy to make and cheap no more going to a restraunt and paying 7.95 for an appitezer of shrooms. For my onion rings I did the same and seasoned them with Andy's seasoning salt after they were cooked and served with a side of HOMEADE ranch dressing.......diffenitly going to be a regular in our home and for the superbowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Servin1
Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These were very bland and like everyone else said you really need to add more beer..I wish I read the reviews first then I could have made some adjustments..I do plan to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This batter worked great! I used a specialty beer from Rogue breweries. Be sure you use a beer that would taste good on its own and like others have stated you need more beer than called for. You also need to add spices for some flavor, I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Although they would be pretty bland done as written, I still give this recipe 4 stars because the batter worked so well. They are crispy, light and stuck together well. Definitely try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States