Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This batter worked great! I used a specialty beer from Rogue breweries. Be sure you use a beer that would taste good on its own and like others have stated you need more beer than called for. You also need to add spices for some flavor, I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Although they would be pretty bland done as written, I still give this recipe 4 stars because the batter worked so well. They are crispy, light and stuck together well. Definitely try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This recipes has some good ideas. Beating the egg whites first, then adding to the batter is a great way to lighten up the batter. The batter needs seasoning. I had to add salt, pepper, garlic powder just to get any kind of flavor. I also had to add 3x more beer to get the right consistence. I sliced one onion 5/8 inches thick and was enough for 4 people to eat as a side dish. This recipes has to many flaws in it to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
very good recipe! just didnt really have to dip the onions in flour. the batter stuck very well with out it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Hubby and kiddos loved them! Did have to give 4 stars as I had to use about 1 1/2 bottles of beer for the batter to get the pancake consistency everyone talked about in reviews. Also added quite a bit of seasoning salt, some garlic salt, and some paprika. (Only added the extra seasoning after making a few, and hubby tasting them and saying they needed the seasoning.) Would've given 5 stars if it weren't for this. Really easy to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
YUM!!! Used Straberry onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I think the batter is awesome. I added more beer aswell and used the "flour in bag and shake 'em" method. I'm German and I'm looking for authentic american recipes 'cause my wife was born and raised in Texas and I makes her feel just a little bit more like home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is perfection! I've used this recipe for a few superbowl parties now and I get alot of requests. I made the mistake of trying the old fashioned recipe from this site and was so highly disappointed. For now on I will always use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These were great! I used 3-4 Vidalia onions, and added seasoning salt & a little paprika to the batter, and once they were fried. I had to use about 2 bottles of beer, to thin this batter out. This made TONS of onion rings. This is time consuming so be sure you have extra help in the kitchen while making dinner. I had Mr. grilling burgers while I cooked these, and kept them warm in the oven on low until ready to eat. We all loved them, and made our homemade burgers into Western with Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce found at AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These were WONDERFUL! I made these about a month ago and just came back to the recipe tonight because they were requested as a side for tonight's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Turned out great, we actually double dip the onions into batter. Put first coat on, threw in the fridge for a bit and then dipped them again. The spicing is something that will have to be tweaked to ones liking but we used salt garlic pepper and some paprika and used seasoning salt when they came out. Tasty just needed tweaking but could be perfected after a few attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States