Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
We just tried this recipe and it was ok. I'm only giving it three stars because the proportion seemed to be way off when it came to the amount of liquid to make it a dip-able batter. When only using the 1 cup of liquid (beer) as stated, it made such a big glutenous glop on my wire wisk, I had to add A LOT more beer to make is a good batter consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
For those with celiac, try any gluten-free beer instead of regular beer, and gluten-free all purpose flour- worked like a charm! Agree with everyone else about more beer... Used almost a full bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
The Beer must be doubled to 2 cups. Other than that, fabulous onion rings! This would work well for fried veggies, too....broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini. Oh, My!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
excellent for shrimp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Best one out there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Did not turn out that good, batter did not bond well to the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed it almost exactly. My only tweak was that I used a whole bottle of Guinness and a bit of water. I took another reviewer's advice that the batter should resemble pancake batter. This was a good call. The onion rings came out perfectly, and we even had them for leftovers the next day. (I reheated them at 400 degrees F, for about ten minutes until they were crispy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
With the recipe as printed, I got dough rather than batter, but after adding the rest of the can of beer, these turned out fairly well. They definitley need some seasoning salt or something mixed in with the flour, but they were awesomely crispy. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Batter came out too thick and was unable to use it. I checked the amounts and ingredients several times but i followed the recipe. I'd try something else instead next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Acceptable, nothing more. It really didn't taste like anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States