Beer-Batter Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
For those with celiac, try any gluten-free beer instead of regular beer, and gluten-free all purpose flour- worked like a charm! Agree with everyone else about more beer... Used almost a full bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
The Beer must be doubled to 2 cups. Other than that, fabulous onion rings! This would work well for fried veggies, too....broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini. Oh, My!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
excellent for shrimp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Best one out there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Did not turn out that good, batter did not bond well to the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed it almost exactly. My only tweak was that I used a whole bottle of Guinness and a bit of water. I took another reviewer's advice that the batter should resemble pancake batter. This was a good call. The onion rings came out perfectly, and we even had them for leftovers the next day. (I reheated them at 400 degrees F, for about ten minutes until they were crispy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
With the recipe as printed, I got dough rather than batter, but after adding the rest of the can of beer, these turned out fairly well. They definitley need some seasoning salt or something mixed in with the flour, but they were awesomely crispy. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Batter came out too thick and was unable to use it. I checked the amounts and ingredients several times but i followed the recipe. I'd try something else instead next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Acceptable, nothing more. It really didn't taste like anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
i did not care for this recipe and would have given it a 3 but my brother liked it and thought it should get a four. it needed a lot more beer than called for and a lot more seasoning as it was very bland. we added garlic powder, salt, pepper, chilli powder, and paprika. we also battered some sweet potato which was quite tasty and different. overall, the recipe needed so many changes that i will prob try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States