Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Best recipe I ever tried for beer battered fish. My husband absolutely loves this one. I don't like fish, but I like the fish in this recipe. I added a little more beer because the batter was really thick and it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
It is great!Ive always cooked Fish and Chips with just breaded crumbs but now I cook it like they serve in restaurants ... so deliciously yummy! It looks fantastic and the batter is smooth. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
Execellent recipe! I didn't have pastry flour so used all purpose with extra cornstarch. It was just a bit on the thick side so I added a little more milk. Easy to whip up, the batter was smooth and the fish looked like something you would get in a fish house. Beautiful and golden on the outside and moist and flakey on the inside. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was really good. I suggest you only make half unless you are frying a lot of fish. Also add extra beer to make the batter a little thinner. My husband could not believe that he was eating homemade battered fish, he said it tasted just like restaurant quality. I will definately make this again. It was a nice change from our usual breaded baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent Wilma! I didn't change a thing, just needed to add a little more beer as it was quite thick. The batter stuck to the fish beautifully and really poofed up once deep fried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
excellent recipe. My kids couldn't get enough fish when I used the beer batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. The breading was just like a restaurants. Puffy and crispy. For a family of 4 I would half the recipe, makes alot of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
It was great! We used it for shrimp, calamari, and scallops - the best batter I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I've never made fried fish before so I was a little apprehensive. I made it for my boyfriend and he loved it! It was delicious! This is a keeper and will definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States