Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
Execellent recipe! I didn't have pastry flour so used all purpose with extra cornstarch. It was just a bit on the thick side so I added a little more milk. Easy to whip up, the batter was smooth and the fish looked like something you would get in a fish house. Beautiful and golden on the outside and moist and flakey on the inside. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
The crust came out delicate and almost greaseless, which is nice since I am not a big fan of deep fried items. However my sweetie is, which is what provoked me to try this recipe. The only thing that didn't work. . . I ran out fish before I ran out of batter. However, I sliced up an onion and had onion rings. Fabulous! I couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
We really liked this. I halved the recipe, used Sam Adams Summer Ale, and added both Old Bay and Blackened Seasoning. The batter fried up crispy and light. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Josey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
It is great!Ive always cooked Fish and Chips with just breaded crumbs but now I cook it like they serve in restaurants ... so deliciously yummy! It looks fantastic and the batter is smooth. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent Wilma! I didn't change a thing, just needed to add a little more beer as it was quite thick. The batter stuck to the fish beautifully and really poofed up once deep fried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Good start. Used heavy dark beer and about half the baking powder so not so puffy. Also cut recipe in 1/2 for 1+ pound of Talapia with plenty left over. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Best recipe I ever tried for beer battered fish. My husband absolutely loves this one. I don't like fish, but I like the fish in this recipe. I added a little more beer because the batter was really thick and it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was really good. I suggest you only make half unless you are frying a lot of fish. Also add extra beer to make the batter a little thinner. My husband could not believe that he was eating homemade battered fish, he said it tasted just like restaurant quality. I will definately make this again. It was a nice change from our usual breaded baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
excellent recipe. My kids couldn't get enough fish when I used the beer batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The batter had great flavor. There was just way too much for two pounds of cod. Make sure that the batter is on the thinner side. The first few pieces I fried were a little doughy but I added more beer and they came out great. We even made onion rings and my husband loved them. The only problem is that the batter gets really soggy fast! Any ideas on this problem? Next time I'll add less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NashvillePeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States