Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
excellent recipe. My kids couldn't get enough fish when I used the beer batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
It is great!Ive always cooked Fish and Chips with just breaded crumbs but now I cook it like they serve in restaurants ... so deliciously yummy! It looks fantastic and the batter is smooth. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
Execellent recipe! I didn't have pastry flour so used all purpose with extra cornstarch. It was just a bit on the thick side so I added a little more milk. Easy to whip up, the batter was smooth and the fish looked like something you would get in a fish house. Beautiful and golden on the outside and moist and flakey on the inside. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. The breading was just like a restaurants. Puffy and crispy. For a family of 4 I would half the recipe, makes alot of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent Wilma! I didn't change a thing, just needed to add a little more beer as it was quite thick. The batter stuck to the fish beautifully and really poofed up once deep fried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was really good. I suggest you only make half unless you are frying a lot of fish. Also add extra beer to make the batter a little thinner. My husband could not believe that he was eating homemade battered fish, he said it tasted just like restaurant quality. I will definately make this again. It was a nice change from our usual breaded baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
It was great! We used it for shrimp, calamari, and scallops - the best batter I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Best recipe I ever tried for beer battered fish. My husband absolutely loves this one. I don't like fish, but I like the fish in this recipe. I added a little more beer because the batter was really thick and it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Very "cake" like, meaning it really disguised the fish as it was all batter. Once I thinned it out (quite a bit) the extra batter worked well with mushrooms & zucchini. It needed a little extra flavoring, but did the trick. Thanks Wilma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States