Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Although this was not the traditional breading I prefer -I like more of a crunchy coating on my fish -it was still very good. I did have to add more beer to the batter to thin it out as it was rather thick in consistency and blobbed off in clumps when I dipped the fish. After getting a thinner consistency (by adding more beer) the coating clinged well to the fish and was slightly bready but not overly bready. We all enjoyed the flavor very much. I also dipped onions in and made onion rings. It never really was a crunchy coating except for when I first pulled it from the fryer, but we all enjoyed it nevertheless. I served my fish with the Tartar Sauce IV and the Baked Basil Fries... both from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The batter had great flavor. There was just way too much for two pounds of cod. Make sure that the batter is on the thinner side. The first few pieces I fried were a little doughy but I added more beer and they came out great. We even made onion rings and my husband loved them. The only problem is that the batter gets really soggy fast! Any ideas on this problem? Next time I'll add less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NashvillePeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I did as recommended and put them in the oven at 250 while waiting for everything to finish but they still were very soggy. Very dissapointing. It was too puffy and there was no flavor to the batter. It needed more seasoning. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Good, but needs more seasoning. I would load up way more garlic powder, salt and pepper next time. The texture was good though. We used Tilapia with this which fell apart to easily. Will try with a heartier fish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
My boyfriend and I absolutely love this recipe! It took us a couple of tries to get it right but in the end it worked out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elisha07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
After reading other reviews, I cut the recipe in half and still had extra. I used only 1 egg, substituted Old Bay for the garlic powder, and used more beer to thin it slightly. I used the batter with Walleye - it was fabulous!! It stuck well to the fish, browned perfectly, stayed crispy, and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyBeckyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This was OK. I used it on Paddock. I think I might try again but only for onion rings. As my husband said, "it's like eating a loaf of bread." There was much more bread than fish. If you like really, really thick breading, this is definitely for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
We really liked this. I halved the recipe, used Sam Adams Summer Ale, and added both Old Bay and Blackened Seasoning. The batter fried up crispy and light. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Josey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This turned out really good. It puffed up like the batter on LJS's fish does. It was really thick and I had to add more beer to thin it out some. This made about twice as much batter as I needed. Most of the pieces were crispy outside, but some of them got soft (like a cooked pancake) by the time we ate. I used both Cod and Orange Roughy for this. Great with malt vinegar and lemon! DH tried this with some onion rings and shrimp, it was just okay that way. My family has requested I make this again. This wasn't spicy, next time my hubby has asked me to double the spices and maybe add some Old Bay as well. I've never had beer batter anything so I didn't know what type of batter it is, DH says yep, this is just what beer batter is supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Oh me, oh my. I did not care for thisl. I was very disappointed. A cakey batter... way too bready for my taste. Very heavy. It didn't sop up the oil which some people may like. I was just looking for a light and fluffy beer batter... more in line with a tempura I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gales Ferry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States