Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
very good. The color of the batter and the thickness had me a bit concerned but it turned out fabulous. I did add a bit more four to thicken it.. and a teaspoon of baking powder. .. because I was so worried about it but I don't think it really changed it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I was really pleased with this batter. I have also used it on onion rings which was delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Although this was not the traditional breading I prefer -I like more of a crunchy coating on my fish -it was still very good. I did have to add more beer to the batter to thin it out as it was rather thick in consistency and blobbed off in clumps when I dipped the fish. After getting a thinner consistency (by adding more beer) the coating clinged well to the fish and was slightly bready but not overly bready. We all enjoyed the flavor very much. I also dipped onions in and made onion rings. It never really was a crunchy coating except for when I first pulled it from the fryer, but we all enjoyed it nevertheless. I served my fish with the Tartar Sauce IV and the Baked Basil Fries... both from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The batter had great flavor. There was just way too much for two pounds of cod. Make sure that the batter is on the thinner side. The first few pieces I fried were a little doughy but I added more beer and they came out great. We even made onion rings and my husband loved them. The only problem is that the batter gets really soggy fast! Any ideas on this problem? Next time I'll add less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NashvillePeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I did as recommended and put them in the oven at 250 while waiting for everything to finish but they still were very soggy. Very dissapointing. It was too puffy and there was no flavor to the batter. It needed more seasoning. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Good, but needs more seasoning. I would load up way more garlic powder, salt and pepper next time. The texture was good though. We used Tilapia with this which fell apart to easily. Will try with a heartier fish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
My boyfriend and I absolutely love this recipe! It took us a couple of tries to get it right but in the end it worked out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elisha07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
After reading other reviews, I cut the recipe in half and still had extra. I used only 1 egg, substituted Old Bay for the garlic powder, and used more beer to thin it slightly. I used the batter with Walleye - it was fabulous!! It stuck well to the fish, browned perfectly, stayed crispy, and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeyBeckyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This was OK. I used it on Paddock. I think I might try again but only for onion rings. As my husband said, "it's like eating a loaf of bread." There was much more bread than fish. If you like really, really thick breading, this is definitely for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
We really liked this. I halved the recipe, used Sam Adams Summer Ale, and added both Old Bay and Blackened Seasoning. The batter fried up crispy and light. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Josey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States