Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
excellent batter...added a touch of curry powder gave it a little zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I can't believe how easy this recipe is! Only thing I did diffrent was sub 1/2 cup of beer for the milk and it was amazing. 5 stars, I would give it 10 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
We ended up removing the breading and just ate the fish; however, it was good on the onion rings. On the positive side, the batter fried up to a beautiful golden brown and did not soak up a lot of grease. Negative - the batter never crisped - as others have said, too bready or too soggy. If you're looking to make crispy batter-fried fish this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
great tasting battered fish...i used all purpose flour and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was great! I added a little Old Bay seasoning and some onion powder which give it just a bit more flavor. Next time will half the recipe cause I did have some left over and I also used it on shrimp at the same meal. Will try it on mushrooms next time! Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great taste and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I had to scrape some of the batter off, as it was a little thick. But great texture and flavor. My kids devoured the fish! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
The recipe could easily be cut in half- I did 1.5 lbs (3 cod filets in 7 pieces ) and there was about half left over. I should have added some more beer as well since it turned out pretty thick (and messy to work with). A little bland but you could easily change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
very good. The color of the batter and the thickness had me a bit concerned but it turned out fabulous. I did add a bit more four to thicken it.. and a teaspoon of baking powder. .. because I was so worried about it but I don't think it really changed it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I was really pleased with this batter. I have also used it on onion rings which was delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States