Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This batter was just ok for me...definitely needs tweaking. It was too thick so I added more beer. The flavor was a bit flat, and even after browning well, the crust was too soft and lacked crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This also makes great sweet and sour chicken but use only a half cup beer for it. Thanks for a great recipe. It is for sure a keeper.;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Too cakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
delicious but i didn't get the big crunchy texture I was looking for with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Had to add a little extra beer, but my husband says "this gets five stars with me!" Very good on shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Love this! I use it whenever I want a great beer batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTILDA75

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a tasty light batter recipe and I will use it again. However, this recipe makes way too much of it! I halved the recipe as written and battered 1.2 lbs of cod, and 1/2 lb of sliced mushrooms, and had *plenty* left over to throw out. Like at least one other reviewer, I added a little more beer since the batter seemed very thick. Overall, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was great. I used buttermilk (as I needed to use it up) but may not do that next time as it got pretty fluffy. We did make a lot and had some to reheat, which surprisingly for reheated fish, it tasted quite good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used this on Rainbow Trout - (not the usual, I know) - and it worked GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Perfect as is. I added a bit of Old Bay only because I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States