Beer Batter for Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have taken this recipe and tweeked it a bit, I added lemon pepper, dill weed, and some cajun seasoning to spice it up a bit. This recipe is a favorite for me and the other half, we make it just about every weekend.....better yet it costs less to have a homemade fish fry than it is to go out anymore for it!!! FYI I also add more beer to thin out the batter and even experimented with the remaining batter by finding other things at home to deep fry.....onion rings, and cheese curds are pretty good using the same batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I had my doubts but love english style fish. Batter was way too thick. Whenever I saw the eggs in a batter, I should have known. It was cake like, I prefer a light crispy batter on my fish. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great batter, did the full recipe for a few fish. Next day had grandkids to feed, didn't have any chicken fingers to cook up, so we did buzzard butts instead (chunks of chicken breast that was for stif fry). They really liked it, wanted more for breakfast the next day. Great recipe can be used for anything. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is exactly what my husband was asking for. It was delicious! I don't have a deep fryer so I used a large heavy frying pan with about an inch of oil. I heated the pan on medium high and turned the fish when the batter turned golden. Don't over crowd your fish in the pan or it will be hard to flip in the hot oil. I admit I fried potatoes in the oil first for the whole fish and chip experience. Also, I just used regular flour and added 2 tablespoons of beer to thin the batter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My first time to write a review! I didn't change a thing! I have tried for years to make a good beer batter. This one was 5 stars with my very picky hubby and daughter. Thanks for sharing it, have made this 3 times now! Works awesome on vegetables, fish, chicken and trying pork chops next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was an excellent batter. Made it for several friends and they, including myself, raved over it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I am gluten-free, and this tempura beer batter is incredible and tasty! I had a little left over once I had finished cooking all of the fish, so I sliced up some veggies (sweet potato, onion, broccoli, carrot, and asparagus) and made a little vegetable tempura to accompany the fish -- yum! I can't wait to try it with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I don't usually review recipes but this one plesantly surprised me. This was by far the best beer battered fish I have made yet. Most recipes call for all purpose flour where as this one uses pastery flour which I think makes a huge difference in the results once its cooked. In my case, I could not find pastery flour locally so after some brief research I got some cake flour and mixed it 50/50 with all purpose flour. Needless to say, this batter produced what was as close to the best fish and chips I have ever had. Its nice and think so you dont need to dip the fish in flour prior to dipping in the batter. I'm sure the next time I make this, it will be even better as I could have used a bit more salt. End result is some very fluffy breading that has a great texture and great taste. Definately on par with some of the best fish I have had. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
My whole family absolutely loved this recipe. Had to add a little bit more milk because of the batter being so thick, but other than that it was excellent. I didn't use fish though, I used chicken tenders instead and used the rest of the batter to make onion rings. Will absolutely make this again. For me it was a little bland so i will season to my liking next time. Thank you for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Lynn Fuller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States