Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Hey people - this recipe would be "great" if you just take a moment to read my suggestion. About 30 years ago, I came across an article in a magazine that had interviewed the owner of a very successful restaurant. Since he was retiring from his business, he was in a generous mood, and decided to share his secrets! (Great guy - wish I had met him!) Anyway, all you have to do to ensure a great beer batter is to do the following: add one can or bottle of beer (12 fluid ounces) to 12 ounces of flour (do the math yourself this morning, please, as I'm kinda tired from work!). Basically, the batter is just a 1:1 ratio of beer to all-purpose flour. Therefore, you can make any amount of batter you choose to - 2 cups beer, to 2 cups flour, and so on. THEN, with a whisk, mix those 2 ingredients well. Cover with a tea towel, and leave it alone! Let it sit for 3 hours, and you're ready to do anything! (A chemical reaction occurs between the beer and the flour during that time period.) Get out your seasoned fish filets, dip it in this mixture, then drop one at a time into hot oil. Don't crowd the cooking vessel, and turn only once, as the author of this recipe suggests! Drain on paper towels, serve hot! If you're feeding a crowd, and want to keep the fish warm while you're cooking the rest, place fried filets in a slow oven (200 degrees F) while you're frying up the rest. This batter also makes the best onion rings!! (The man who shared this recipe owned a steak house.) Enjoy! ~ Lauren
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Great! I was having a problem with it being greasy although I drained it on paper bags. Then I switched to 2 egg whites instead of a whole egg and it solved the problem - found out from tv that egg yolks hold the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1060 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This recipe is just like you would find at a restaurant. For anyone that has a problem with the beer batter not sticking to the fish, I have a simple trick. Set out a bowl with about a cup of flour, and before you dip the fish in the beer batter, coat the fish in flour. Also- to keep them crispy, make sure to drain the excess oil on a paper bag after frying. You shouldn't have any problems after that! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
691 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Well I made this recipe tonight for dinner....and I only have one question. Why hasn't anyone mentioned the OVERWHELMING amount of salt in this batter?!?! This was my first attempt at frying fish and while I did forget to coat the filet's in flour (so the batter mostly fell off), the batter was almost inedible because it was so salty (and I'm a salt lover!). We may try this again making sure to flour the fish and I will reduce the amount of salt by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I bought two bottles of beer and did one batter with the spices used in this recipe and then I did another batter with the same recipe using only salt and pepper. The spicy batter is GREAT for onion rings and potato cakes and my husband continued to use it for his fish, but I personally liked the plain batter for my fish and prawns. A good quality beer should be used and not light beer. I had no problems with this batter not sticking, but if it is a problem dip fish into flour first and then the batter before frying. This batter makes a really nice crunchy fish that does NOT get soggy. I don't know how people got soggy fish from this recipe. Make sure to salt fish or anything fried for that matter after removing it from the fryer. Learned that from Emril. Wonderful fish and will use this batter again and again. Goodbye to the corner Fish-n-Chip shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Deep frying 101; always lightly coat with flour to help the batter adhere. Other than adding more seasonings and less salt, this was a great recipe Linda! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I was very pleasantly surprised. The batter was crispy and light, the best I've made yet. Just a tip, be sure to pat the excess water from the fish before dipping into batter to ensure a nice crispy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I was very disappointed with this recipe. Way to much paprika and very salty. There was also a lot of batter left over that just went in the garbage. It did however fry nicely and was very crunchy on the outside. Maybe I'd try it again with half the ingredients and even less salt & paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Remember to drain the fish on paper bags for the best crunch! This is a family favorite at my house. I cut amount of the paprika in half and replace the other portion with Old Bay (seafood) seasoning. You can make the batter ahead so you have one less thing to do when you get home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
The spice/flavor was good. I used less salt and added some Old Bay spice as well. I used peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, I should have read some of the other reviews first. The batter was too thin and didn't adhere to the fish. I also made onion rings with the leftover batter. My suggestions: (a) either use half the beer or extra flour; and (b) dip everything you plan to fry in flour first, then the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States