Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Excellent overall recipe. I questioned the huge amount of salt and pepper and garlic powder in it so I halved it. It was fine for me. Just make sure the oil is HOT or you will have soggy battered fish. Definitely roll the fish fillets in flour first or the batter just slides off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Salt and pepper to taste plus 2 teaspoons of salt? Less salt please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Delicious! I make this every other week! Torn between this and another beer batter fish recipe on here; they are both tasty. I actually like this one better because I can omit the milk, add more spice and more beer. Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! We used fresh skinned bone-in trout and fried the whole thing. Also, we substituted ground red pepper (1 & 1/2 tsp) for the paprika. So amazing! Love the spice! Better than any fried fish I've paid for in a restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Using the flour coating first seemed to give me great results. I did forget to salt and pepper to taste the fish after patting it dry. I would have liked it to be more salty. I did have a ton left over like everyone said and was able to make onion rings as a side so it seemed like a win-win to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I hardly ever give five stars, but this batter is great! Turned out perfectly crispy and stuck well to the fish. Will definitely make it again. Want to try this batter with onion rings, and maybe even mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The batter had only an ok taste and it slid right off the fish after it was cooked. It was also more oily than crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I received a little fryer for Christmas and tried it out using this recipe. I scaled it down to just 2 servings. I assembled the beer batter 4 hours ahead of time, much like another reviewer suggested. I dredged the fish (tilapia) in flour first as others and then into the beer batter. This fried up beautifully in about 4-5 minutes. I drained the first filet well on brown paper and kept it warm in the oven while I fried up the second filet. This was very good and the fish stayed nice and moist. If you’re looking for a beer batter recipe, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Toooo much paprika. Your fish is not golden. My batter didn't stick well either. Will try everyone's tips. Overall fair. The recipe from the grocery store at the fish counter is better. Simple 1:1 beer, flour, tsp season .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Great recipe. My husband and son both had two helpings. We will definitely make it again. Saved it to my recipe box. Great with a side of coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States