Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My first beer batter fish and chips and it was great. Nicely seasoned and very easy to make. I would say that I might add a little more salt the next time, but AS IS, cooking this recipe will get you kudos all 'round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is very good - restaurant quality! This was my first try at deep fried fish and I'm happy I chose this recipe. I realized after I started making this that I was out of garlic powder so I used garlic salt instead and eliminated the regular salt. I took other reviewers' advice and dipped the fish in flour before dipping in the batter. Also, I think that 12 oz of beer is way too much (too thin). I used about 10 oz. of Sam Adams lager and it was a little thin. Next time I will reduce it to about 8 oz, making this just perject!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was a big hit with my husband and I. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Pretty good but only used half the salt and it was still almost too salty. Will use less of all the seasonings next time as I think the paprika was a bit much too. Hubbie really like it. Said it was "pub style". Will make again but with adjustments to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipie was outstanding! I did increase all of the seasonings especially the paprika and salt. I also dipped the fish (I used catfish) in some panko before frying in my deep cast iron skillet. I only used 1.5 quarts of oil and fried one piece at a time to avoid overcrowding. It makes A LOT of batter, and there will be some left over. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight, reducing the servings to 2 people and using one filet. Followed ingredients, except used a whole egg and didn't have garlic powder so I used onion powder. Cut our filet into big nuggets, but you could do whole or even sticks. Tested one nugget to ensure batter was seasoned perfectly. Fried each nugget until they were a golden brown, let drain and rest before serving. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Tried this tonight and it was mighty tasty! Next time, I will add the beer more slowly to gauge the thickness. First time I have ever done a beer batter and am glad I gave it a try. I guess I have always been afraid of wasting a beer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
There was nothing wrong with this recipe at all. Flavors were great, preparation was as I expected (I was hand battering fish for goodness sake, I knew it wasn't going to be box mac & cheese easy~) My only "complaint" is that I felt guilty eating this! I could just feel fat clogging my arteries & weighing me down! So, I will make these again, when I'm looking for a special treat, but I can't make these too often at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was very good. I took the advice of another poster and dipped the fillets in a seperate bowl of flour first then the batter. I also only used egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made the recipes as written, except I reduced the salt and pepper in the batter down to 1 tsp each. This was a decent beer batter recipe, but both my husband and I felt the paprika took over the flavor and it was just a wee bit too much. Will make again, but will cut the paprika down to 1 tsp as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States