Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! We used fresh skinned bone-in trout and fried the whole thing. Also, we substituted ground red pepper (1 & 1/2 tsp) for the paprika. So amazing! Love the spice! Better than any fried fish I've paid for in a restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Using the flour coating first seemed to give me great results. I did forget to salt and pepper to taste the fish after patting it dry. I would have liked it to be more salty. I did have a ton left over like everyone said and was able to make onion rings as a side so it seemed like a win-win to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I hardly ever give five stars, but this batter is great! Turned out perfectly crispy and stuck well to the fish. Will definitely make it again. Want to try this batter with onion rings, and maybe even mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The batter had only an ok taste and it slid right off the fish after it was cooked. It was also more oily than crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I received a little fryer for Christmas and tried it out using this recipe. I scaled it down to just 2 servings. I assembled the beer batter 4 hours ahead of time, much like another reviewer suggested. I dredged the fish (tilapia) in flour first as others and then into the beer batter. This fried up beautifully in about 4-5 minutes. I drained the first filet well on brown paper and kept it warm in the oven while I fried up the second filet. This was very good and the fish stayed nice and moist. If you’re looking for a beer batter recipe, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Toooo much paprika. Your fish is not golden. My batter didn't stick well either. Will try everyone's tips. Overall fair. The recipe from the grocery store at the fish counter is better. Simple 1:1 beer, flour, tsp season .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Great recipe. My husband and son both had two helpings. We will definitely make it again. Saved it to my recipe box. Great with a side of coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My first beer batter fish and chips and it was great. Nicely seasoned and very easy to make. I would say that I might add a little more salt the next time, but AS IS, cooking this recipe will get you kudos all 'round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is very good - restaurant quality! This was my first try at deep fried fish and I'm happy I chose this recipe. I realized after I started making this that I was out of garlic powder so I used garlic salt instead and eliminated the regular salt. I took other reviewers' advice and dipped the fish in flour before dipping in the batter. Also, I think that 12 oz of beer is way too much (too thin). I used about 10 oz. of Sam Adams lager and it was a little thin. Next time I will reduce it to about 8 oz, making this just perject!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was a big hit with my husband and I. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States