Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Excellent flavor of the beer! I did what one reviewer suggested and let the flour and beer sit for a bit. Of course I didn't add the rest of the ingredients until ready to fry, batter was still excellent. You could taste the mild beer flavor coming through. We used a local brewed ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I deep fried cod with this recipe. I did change one small thing. That's two tablespoon of garlic. I used one tablespoon. I figured it would ruin the flavor of the cod with too much garlic powder. It was "okay". Nothing exciting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markleeville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Trying to find fish recipes that my family will like. Who doesn't like beer batter fish? My family apparently. I followed the directions to a "t" and the batter was runny. Let the fish drip from wire racks and they were really greasy. I might try this again though using some of the other peoples suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papiernikc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe produced a very flavorful crispy fish. I tried it as is first, then I rolled the fish in panko bread crumbs after dipping. I am not going to take away from this recipe but suggest you try one piece of your fish this way. Great Recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richardcook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Cut the paprika back and still found it to be way too much.... Especially if you use a smoky paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
What an easy recipe and so delicious!!! We had so much yellowtail to cook and this was the best thing to do with it...Thx for sharing, this will be the one I use for all my fish tacos from now on ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I didn't have much faith in this recipe. I usually don't do well on deep fried foods. I used tilapia and it was so delicious. I dipped it in flour per someone's suggestion and the batter stuck to the fish and fried up well. This is a keeper for me and I think I will try it on chicken one day too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe worked well only if you made sure fish was patted dry and dredged thru a little mixture of flour, salt and pepper prior to dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I was a little disappointed in this recipe, but my husband liked it. First of all, I used a lite pale ale beer and all of the spices it called for (although I only used a dash of paprika). It came out really bland. On a positive note, the batter stuck really well to the cod, because I floured them before frying. I also fried it in canola oil, which I read was healthier than vegetable oil. I will make this again, but with a darker, better quality beer, and will only use salt and pepper (while omitting the garlic salt and paprika).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly and we used Guinness Extra Stout and it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States