Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe produced a very flavorful crispy fish. I tried it as is first, then I rolled the fish in panko bread crumbs after dipping. I am not going to take away from this recipe but suggest you try one piece of your fish this way. Great Recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richardcook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Cut the paprika back and still found it to be way too much.... Especially if you use a smoky paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
What an easy recipe and so delicious!!! We had so much yellowtail to cook and this was the best thing to do with it...Thx for sharing, this will be the one I use for all my fish tacos from now on ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I didn't have much faith in this recipe. I usually don't do well on deep fried foods. I used tilapia and it was so delicious. I dipped it in flour per someone's suggestion and the batter stuck to the fish and fried up well. This is a keeper for me and I think I will try it on chicken one day too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe worked well only if you made sure fish was patted dry and dredged thru a little mixture of flour, salt and pepper prior to dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I was a little disappointed in this recipe, but my husband liked it. First of all, I used a lite pale ale beer and all of the spices it called for (although I only used a dash of paprika). It came out really bland. On a positive note, the batter stuck really well to the cod, because I floured them before frying. I also fried it in canola oil, which I read was healthier than vegetable oil. I will make this again, but with a darker, better quality beer, and will only use salt and pepper (while omitting the garlic salt and paprika).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly and we used Guinness Extra Stout and it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I (pretty much) took the advice of PrettyMissusR and let the Flour/Spices mixed with the beer (I didn't measure, I kind of "eyeballed" it) sit for a couple of hours,then I mixed in an egg and let it sit around another hour. It was the lightest,best batter that I have ever made or eaten! Neighbors came over at couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used equal parts beer& flour, cut the salt and added old bay to my batter...I was told it was restaurant quality!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was great. The dh loved it and that's saying a lot since he is not a huge fish fan. Followed the recipe execpt for cuting down the salt to 1 tsp and the paperika to 1tbsp and adding one tbsp of old bay seasoning. I also choose to use boston original lager. Worked great. It didn't give off a huge beer taste which I enjoyed. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myeisha Dhillon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States