Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Loved this recipe. Be sure to half the salt though. And I used a deep fryer to cook them. (They turned out amazing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I really shouldn't be rating this recipe as I didn't really follow it. I used almost a half and half ratio with flour and beer, but tweeked it a little bit. I used 1 1/2 cup flour to almost a whole bottle of beer. There was about 1/4 cup left in the bottle. It was too thick was a half and half ratio. I added freshly ground pepper and alot of garlic powder. I let it sit for an hour. I also floured the fish before I coated it with the beer batter. I also drained the fish on a paper grocery bag and it stayed SO crispy. It was AMAZING! I LOVED it! The best beer better I have EVER had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
It was lacking spices, otherwise it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good but makes too much batter for 2 lbs. of fish. Scale down about 1/3 less. Peace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAPAW JOE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Never had a batter stick to every thing like this before. It also holds way too much oil. Followed the recipe exactly! Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This wasn't the type of beer batter that I had expected because it was quite thin. The taste was pretty good though so I may try it again and make it thicker, not sure but it just didn't work as is for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. It did not work. All of the batter fell off as soon as the fish hit the oil. No stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This made phenomenal onion rings. The fish was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
i loved this. i added a little Cayenne pepper to it though and the first filet i made took a long time so in preparation of that evenings dinner i pre-fried the pieces with the batter and then right before dinner i battered them a second time and fried them. It made the breading super fluffy and very crisp and flavorful. you should try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chill9166

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Such a wonderful recipe! I made this with halibut and it turned out great - Definitely restaurant quality fried fish! The only thing I noticed is the recipe says you should be able to see through the batter but when I did that, it was spotty. I'd go for a little less beer than is called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States