Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
perfectly delicious! followed recipe exact and the cod fillets were the best I've ever made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Not very good soggy and batter to thin to make it nice and bready. Needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This was a great batter recipe! I used it for Haddock & the fish came out nice & crispy! We really enjoyed it! I did flour the fish before putting in the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made this recipe last night and it was WONDERFUL! Very flavorful. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrks kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
The batter itself was awesome, not too thick and it was very crispy. I would adjust the seasoning however, I would double up on all the seasoning and I had substituted chili powder instead of paprika. I used the left over to make onion rings which were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrks kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Recipe is fantastic, son is chef, he suggested cut garlic to 1/2 t, add 2 t of baking powder to dry ingredients. Coat fish with corn starch before dipping fish into batter. Fish was perfectly crisp. Made my tarter sauce. A must keep recipe. Thank you, Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Used this recipe tonight for dinner. Didn't have any cod, so started with 2 tilapia filets, and then raw 5 jumbo shrimp finally followed by onion rings from one one medium onion. Still had about 1/4 cup of batter left-over. Since the tilapia coating came out a little think after cooking, thinned it out before cooking the shrimp -- this perfect (used the entire 12 oz bottle of SA Boston Lager). The onion rings didn't hold the batter as well as the tilapia and the shrimp. Next time will start with the slightly thicker batter for the onion rings, then thin it out for the rest. Everything was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Fantastic! And easy to prepare and cook! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duanku

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Thank you to the top reviewer of this recipe. Adding the 1:1 ratio of beer and floor worked. I also coated lightly with floor for batter to stick to fish which it did. I omitted all salt except lightly salted the fish and that turned out perfect. My family loved this recipe and it was the first time I did fish this way. So a great sucess. One note I used an organic white whole wheat flour from King Arthur. It turn out very well. Thank you for all the reviews to make mine turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Trimm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This looks so good and I would want to try it. Only thing is, I never know what to do with the oil that`s left over after frying. How do you dispose of it? Update: Well I made it and didn't like it at all. I think my oil was too hot so it got a dark colour fast without truly cooking the fish. That was a waste of $20 of cod and now I'm left with a frying pan full of oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States