Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Used this recipe tonight for dinner. Didn't have any cod, so started with 2 tilapia filets, and then raw 5 jumbo shrimp finally followed by onion rings from one one medium onion. Still had about 1/4 cup of batter left-over. Since the tilapia coating came out a little think after cooking, thinned it out before cooking the shrimp -- this perfect (used the entire 12 oz bottle of SA Boston Lager). The onion rings didn't hold the batter as well as the tilapia and the shrimp. Next time will start with the slightly thicker batter for the onion rings, then thin it out for the rest. Everything was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Fantastic! And easy to prepare and cook! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duanku

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Thank you to the top reviewer of this recipe. Adding the 1:1 ratio of beer and floor worked. I also coated lightly with floor for batter to stick to fish which it did. I omitted all salt except lightly salted the fish and that turned out perfect. My family loved this recipe and it was the first time I did fish this way. So a great sucess. One note I used an organic white whole wheat flour from King Arthur. It turn out very well. Thank you for all the reviews to make mine turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Trimm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I just watched the video for this recipe. I was amazed at the amount of salt that was being freely tossed around. Salt the fish before the first coating of flour, then put 2 TEASPOONS of salt in the batter, then salt again after you fry the fish. It's like...have a little fish with your salt...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Sounds like a great recipe, but Help...I don't. Fry food. Has anyone tried this recipe, and oven baked it instead of frying? Does it turn out o.k.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This looks so good and I would want to try it. Only thing is, I never know what to do with the oil that`s left over after frying. How do you dispose of it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Reminds me of days eating it in England.....Best ever and so very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Heindell
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
As posted, it's a little bland. I added a few more seasonings. Also, I agree, it should definitely list that you have to coat the fish with flour before the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Heindell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Very Good! Will most definitely be doing again. Used a local Stout as the beer, the rest of the recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I love this recipe. Goes great with chicken as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States