Beer Batter Fish Made Great Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe immensely. Followed recommendations and floured fish first, and I also allowed batter to sit for a few hours. Beer flavor was evident. One thing, it was stated that batter should be thin, there was no explanation. Well, my batter was NOT thin and it did not cook evenly. Totally my hard-headedness! Have enough remaining to try with some shrimp that is thawing. I expect improved results since I thinned the batter. Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was an excellent batter, light yet flavorful and mostly crispy. Some of the pieces didn't crisp very well, even after putting them on the paper bag, but the flavor was still great (we used wild-caught sole instead of cod, only because it was on sale), and it turned out awesome! I agree with the others, definitely lightly dusting in flour before dipping in the batter really helps keep the batter while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie O'Byrne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
We made this recipe with fresh caught Mahi Mahi with some friends. e was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie
Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Following other ratings, used two cups beer to cups flour. Floured fillets before rolling in batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Excellent flavor of the beer! I did what one reviewer suggested and let the flour and beer sit for a bit. Of course I didn't add the rest of the ingredients until ready to fry, batter was still excellent. You could taste the mild beer flavor coming through. We used a local brewed ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I deep fried cod with this recipe. I did change one small thing. That's two tablespoon of garlic. I used one tablespoon. I figured it would ruin the flavor of the cod with too much garlic powder. It was "okay". Nothing exciting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markleeville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Trying to find fish recipes that my family will like. Who doesn't like beer batter fish? My family apparently. I followed the directions to a "t" and the batter was runny. Let the fish drip from wire racks and they were really greasy. I might try this again though using some of the other peoples suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papiernikc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe produced a very flavorful crispy fish. I tried it as is first, then I rolled the fish in panko bread crumbs after dipping. I am not going to take away from this recipe but suggest you try one piece of your fish this way. Great Recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richardcook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Cut the paprika back and still found it to be way too much.... Especially if you use a smoky paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
What an easy recipe and so delicious!!! We had so much yellowtail to cook and this was the best thing to do with it...Thx for sharing, this will be the one I use for all my fish tacos from now on ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States