Beer Batter Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Really good - this was my first time using a beer batter and luckily I found a good one. The only thing was that I wasn't sure about was after you coat the fish and let it sit were you supposed to let it sit in the batter? I hope so because it helped give it a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Easy to make but the batter will not stick to the fish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Your recipe tasted very good for my family. Thank you very much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
tHIS WAS VERY EASY & VERY GOOD. i USED TALAPIA WHICH IS MUCH LESS EXPENSIVE THAN HADDOCK. HADDOCK TASTES GOOD NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO BUT THIS MADE TALAPIA TASTE VERY GOOD.MY WIFE WHO DOES NOT LIKE FISH AT ALL STILL DOES NOT. SHE HAD TAKE OUT CHINESE BUT MY DAUGHTER SAID"OH MY, THIS IS GOOD". SO I GUESS THIS WON'T CONVERT A FISH HATER, BUT WHO CARES, MORE FOR ME...YUM. i DRIED THE FISH, DIPPED IT IN FLOUR THEN IN THE BATTER. IT COATED VERY WELL AND COOKED ALL THE WAY THROUGH. NO GUMMEY COATING. I READ SOME OF THE REVIEWS ABOUT USING DILL SO I TRIED SOME WITH DILL AND SOME WITHOUT. SAVE YOUR MONEY, THE DILL ADDED NOTHING IN MY OPINION. THIS IS NOW ON MY FRIDAY NIGHT LIST. AN ODER OF TAKE OUT CHINESE SESAME CHICKEN AND THIS FISH RECIPE AND EVERYONE IS HAPPY IN MY HOUSEHOLD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was good but not what I was looking for. I thought the batter (I left out the dill too) was quite tasty with just a little bit of salt as the seasoning. I love beer and as alcoholic as it sounds I hate to waste a drop in recipes! But this batter made me a believer that it does add something. Some recipes spice up the batter so much it overwhelms mild fish. I quest for the perfect battered fish because I love the malt vinegar on the filets. My cod filets were so thin and little from a commercially frozen package. Cook the batter till it’s crispy and the fish is over cooked. You need nice thick filets, probably from a fish market, to do the job right. My batter did stick to my fryer a bit too. I used the fish setting on the fryer but I think it could have been hotter. I’ll keep this as a good base recipe but maybe keep questing for the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Best beer battered fish recipe ever! Thank you so much for this recipe, I've been looking everywhere for the perfect fried fish recipe, and i've finally found it! Left out the dill because i didn't have any first time i made them, very minor difference, but fantastic taste both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I made this recipe as is, but substituting Old Bay seasoning for the dill. I was unimpressed; I found the batter to be too thin, and it stuck to the fryer. Taste-wise, it was okay, but not on par with what you can find in any decent restaurant. I'll try a different beer batter recipe from this site next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I did the recipe without alterations and the batter was too thin (like one of the reviews stated). This made everything a little more messy than usual, but still was very tasty and quick to make. For next time, I think I will make a sauce (like tartar sauce) to add more fun to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrCookiePR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Recently, I bought some cod and, being a bachelor, I needed a recipe. I tried this and found it DEELICIOUS! Except for halving the portions for my smaller amount of fish, I didn't change a thing and thought this was some of the best tasting fish I've ever had. My compliments to the chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I never made a batter before so I was a little apprehensive regarding the outcome. I decided to alter the ingredients slightly according to Suzinohio's review as others had mentioned the orig recipe to be too liquidy. With this adjustment I found the batter to be on the thick side for my liking but it did stay on the fish. I also dried fish first. Next time I'll ease up on the dry ingreds. but it is a nice batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States