Beer Batter Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I also could not get the batter to stick. My oil was so hot, it splashed all over the place and made a big mess. I used an amber ale which tasted ok, but the mess was not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I used cod and it came out so Cripsy and wonderful even my daughter who does not like fish ate it. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Loved it! The only change I made was I added 1 tsp of garlic salt. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a very delicious batter, I used English cod from my local quayside. Served some up to my wife who hates any type of fish and she gave it 4 out of 5. I also left the cod in the batter for 30minutes. One thing I have to say is that it does not take 30 minutes to cook. A little tip for other deep fried fish lovers, try 'Newcastle Brown Ale' as a substitute for the beer. It is a local to me ale that is very popular and believe it is available to the readers from the USA. Enjoy! Thanks for the recipe Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
You won't believe how well the batter adheres to the fish! I added a bit more flour because it seemed too thin and I think next time I would add more salt. Make sure your oil is hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This works great. The choice of beer is what really makes this recipe great. Don't use a cheap beer. I prefer to use a dark stout beer like Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was really good. The batter stuck to the fish, and puffed up a little. I would have liked it a little thicker and crispier. I held it in the oven on low until all the fish was ready. That may have contributed to the lack of crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Living in Minnesota we cook a lot of fish. This is very easy and taste great. Works will all kinds of fresh fish, from Sunfish and crappies to walleyes and northerns. The only problem is my kids eat more than they should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I also cut the beer, and added extra flour. I also added garlic powder, onion powder. It was so good. My husband couldn;'t believe we did this ourselves. And we had fun cooking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
EXCELLENT! Followed the advice of previous reviewers and cut the beer, added extra flour - and a splash of Tobasco. With the leftover (I halved the recipe) batter, I added 3/4 cup of corn meal, and 1/2 cup sharp cheddar (and another splash of tobasco and red pepper flakes)and made hushpuppies. Waste not, want not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States