Beer Batter Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This works great. The choice of beer is what really makes this recipe great. Don't use a cheap beer. I prefer to use a dark stout beer like Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was really good. The batter stuck to the fish, and puffed up a little. I would have liked it a little thicker and crispier. I held it in the oven on low until all the fish was ready. That may have contributed to the lack of crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Living in Minnesota we cook a lot of fish. This is very easy and taste great. Works will all kinds of fresh fish, from Sunfish and crappies to walleyes and northerns. The only problem is my kids eat more than they should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I also cut the beer, and added extra flour. I also added garlic powder, onion powder. It was so good. My husband couldn;'t believe we did this ourselves. And we had fun cooking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
EXCELLENT! Followed the advice of previous reviewers and cut the beer, added extra flour - and a splash of Tobasco. With the leftover (I halved the recipe) batter, I added 3/4 cup of corn meal, and 1/2 cup sharp cheddar (and another splash of tobasco and red pepper flakes)and made hushpuppies. Waste not, want not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used catfish, skipped the dill, added some flour to the batter because it was kind of runny, like other reviewers said. The end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cooper City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This fish was awesome. Husband made it. He added Old Bay seasoning, garlic powder and onion powder. Cut back on milk and beer like other reviewers to make a thicker consistency. Also, soaked fish right in the batter and it stuck to the filets nicely. Great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I only had 1 pound of fish and I did use the full amount of batter, only I used 1/2 cup of beer and 1/4 cup milk as suggested by others. I also let it sit for about 45 minutes in the batter before we fried it. The flavor was excellent and we enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is so good. I always add more flour, until it is the consistency of pancake batter, then it sticks on really well. I also make onion rings with the same batter as everyone is starting in on the fish. Leftover fish make great fish tacos the next day!! An added bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
my 5yr old absolutely loved this. when we were done with the fish we fried up the leftover batter and just ate that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States