Beer Batter Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Absolutely wonderful battrer recepie! Very easy to make. Everyone who tried loved it, especially my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Converted this to Gluten free by substituting the flour with Mama's gluten free flour almond blend. Also added 1/2 teaspoon Xanthum gum as a binder and used club soda instead of beer (beer is not gluten free). This cooked up very light and crispy. It reminded me of fish and chips that my husband and I had from a food vendor in Sydney, Australia. We used Cod. Also made Vicki's Hush Puppies from all recipes. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Made this last week, and my SO talked about it for two days, even to his coworkers, so that alone makes this a 5 star recipe. I will make this batter time and again. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
this was lovely golden brown and crispy. i was looking for an alternative to the box fish fry i had been buying and this was great all ingredients i had on hand. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I left out the dill (my family is not a fan) and I took the advice of some before me and added some extra flour. I really didn't measure it - just added a little at a time until the batter looked the way I thought it should. It still appeared a bit thin, but if you leave your fish in for 15 minutes before frying, it comes out perfectly. I don't fry much....loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I let the fish sit in the batter for over 30 minutes and it was so delicious. Did not have a deep fryer, but the skillet worked great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I also could not get the batter to stick. My oil was so hot, it splashed all over the place and made a big mess. I used an amber ale which tasted ok, but the mess was not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I used cod and it came out so Cripsy and wonderful even my daughter who does not like fish ate it. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Loved it! The only change I made was I added 1 tsp of garlic salt. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a very delicious batter, I used English cod from my local quayside. Served some up to my wife who hates any type of fish and she gave it 4 out of 5. I also left the cod in the batter for 30minutes. One thing I have to say is that it does not take 30 minutes to cook. A little tip for other deep fried fish lovers, try 'Newcastle Brown Ale' as a substitute for the beer. It is a local to me ale that is very popular and believe it is available to the readers from the USA. Enjoy! Thanks for the recipe Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States