Beer Batter Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe perfectly, before reading other reviews. I wish I would've read the reviews first. This was not good at all, it was too thin and didn't taste right. I will make try it next time, doing what everyone else recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My husband loved this, so 5 stars. I'd give it 4, as it doesn't stay crispy very long, and I'm a baked fish kinda gal. Used Canola and olive oil combo. Vegetable oil is not allowed in my house. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was great! I didn't have any dill weed and only had a dark wheat beer. I used cod which is my favorite for fish & chips and canola oil which is a little healthier than vegetable oil. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCarma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Crispy and amazing. Everything you could want! I had to add extra flour to make mine thicker but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
really good! i reduced the amount of beer to 1/2 cup to keep the batter thick and used paper towels to dry the fish before putting them in the batter. i let them sit in the batter about 30min and cooked in small batches. to keep your fish from sticking to the bottom of your fryer, put half of the piece in the hot oil for a few moments before releasing it into the oil. i also used extra batter to make onion rings! super good! my husband and 7 year old daughter both loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Excellent recipe- thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Would have been better had the recipe (or I) remembered to pat fish dry *before* battering. Doubled dill; next time will triple. Added 1/2 tsp garlic pwdr, will make that 3/4 tsp next time, possibly increasing to 1 tsp. Substituted 1/4 C panko crumbs 1 to 1 for 1/4 C of the flour - added a *real* nice little crunch to the batter. I can see this will be easily a five star keeper when I finish tweaking it a bit to fit my personal preferences. NICE RECIPE - *THANK* YOU for sharing, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent! Had this last night with Haddock. Tarter sauce: mayo, chipoltle flavored toabasco, pickle relish, black pepper, paprika, and a touch of cayenne pepper! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Excellent according to my company. We had crappie and it was great. I didn't have any dill weed at the lake house, so I omitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very, very good. This is the best recipe for fried fish I have ever tried. I won't lose this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States