Beer Batter Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was delicious! I read reviews and should have listened! Unless you don't mind mushy fish then the fish needs to be COMPLETELY defrosted. The batter became very dark brown, but held up well even with the extended cooking time. I added about a tablespoon of salt-free garlic based seasoning (Costco) to the batter. I used Swai (didn't tell DH) cut into large pieces instead of cod and it was very good. Used the same batter for deep-fried mushrooms that needed eating too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was great! I followed some of the comments and reduce the amount of liquid a bit and mixed flour with cornmeal. I also added a full tsp of dill and it was not over flavored. 40 minutes in the refrigerator. I will make this again and again! Fast, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I love this fish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Excellant batter I have used Shore Lunch beer batter for years this one is very close and I have all the ingredients in my cupboard. I didn't add the dill and I floured the fillets before dipping in batter. Got rave reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manawa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was pretty good. My husband added some creole seasoning for an extra zing and made a quick lemon butter sauce to go with it. (I highly recommend this fish with the sauce. It's crazy delicious! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I used 1.5 cups of flour and 1.5 tsp of baking powder, also added onion powder and garlic powder , doubled the dill and added lemon pepper . was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was the best yet. I was worried but the outcome was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe perfectly, before reading other reviews. I wish I would've read the reviews first. This was not good at all, it was too thin and didn't taste right. I will make try it next time, doing what everyone else recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My husband loved this, so 5 stars. I'd give it 4, as it doesn't stay crispy very long, and I'm a baked fish kinda gal. Used Canola and olive oil combo. Vegetable oil is not allowed in my house. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was great! I didn't have any dill weed and only had a dark wheat beer. I used cod which is my favorite for fish & chips and canola oil which is a little healthier than vegetable oil. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCarma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States