Beer Batter Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
As someone else commented, I did have a problem with it sticking. I think it's just because my deep fryer is rather small, though. I also accidently grabbed the wrong bottle of beer from my fridge without checking and used a beer that I don't like. Was still pretty good, but I find it's always best to use a beer you like. Also worked very well on onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I read the reviews of this, and I have to admit I was worried about the end result. After a few modifications- omited the dill(my family dosen't care for it), used a tablespoon each of onion powder, garlic powder and old bay. Increased this flour by 1/2 cup and baking power to 1 and 1/2 teaspoons, decreased the milk to 1/4 cup, also the beer(budweiser)to 1/2 cup. As one other cook noted; leave to filets in the batter for 30 mins, it worked out great. No problems with the batter sticking, but make sure you dry the fish well before placing it in the batter bowl. I used a mixture of talapia and walleye, everyone loved it! Even me, a very picky fish eater! Served with Vicky's hushpuppies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Great light batter made with Cod made just as the recipe called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This was totaly awesome!! After reading some of the other reviews, they stated the batter was to running. I added a 1/2 cup of corn meal to the batter, also some garlic & onion powder to taste and/or fish seasoning. I also let the fish sit in the batter for 30 min. This made the batter a bit thicker on the fish and made it stick well. My entire family loved this recipe. I am also expected to make this recipe for my neighbor. She buys the fish I cook it. We now have an awesome batter for our fish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I've always had a problem with batter sticking. This worked out great no problems whatsoever. And the taste was just great. Our daughter hates fish and she asked for seconds. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Loved it! I had trouble with the fish sticking to the basket in my deep fryer, so it fell apart when I took it out. It tasted GREAT anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
5 Star ***** Super Did not use dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDTAMMYERS2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marathon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
The batter was awesome. I even tried the batter on dill pickles and it all had a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Good batter. I took into consideration that the batter may be thin, so I added a little less beer & milk. I also added garlic & onion powders. It did need a little more flavor, but it renewed my faith in frying, because it came out nice & crisp and totally stuck to my white bass. I will use this again, thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Yuck! The batter did not stick to the fish--and it just made a huge mess in the pan. My kids hated it and my husband asked me not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States