Beer-Baked Irish Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
just good. I'm not sure that I liked the allspice--and it was almost too beefy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
oh, my! absolutely delicious. better than pot roast, because there's no chuck roast-type fat running through it and getting in the way of pure meat deliciousness. the stew meat, which i bought already cut in chunks from whole foods, was falling apart tender. only changes i made were adding some yukon gold potatoes and celery, and also, didn't have guinness on hand so i used a bottle of corona, and used dried parsley too. everyone loved it, even my 6-year-old who won't eat pot roast because of the fat that you encounter. i know some folks mentioned the allspice, but i found it wasn't a factor at all. it blended with the meat seamlessly and deliciously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I think the allspice adds a weird flavor to this. I did happen to leave out the marjoram - so maybe that would have counteracted the allspice a bit. But anyway, I'd go easy on the allspice if you're into a more traditional stew flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good and full of flavor. I added some red wine to add of bit of depth to my dish while it was cooking in the crockpot. Teh bacon really enhanced the flavor. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Husband thought it didn't have much flavor. I liked it, but will modify next time. I'll make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great flavor easy to make - I'm not a beef eater typically and this was tolerable, not to "beefy" the Guinness really shines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My husband told me this was the best thing he's ever tasted. I have never had a more delicious crock pot meal. The meat was tender and the sauce was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate19kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I've gone thru quite a few Irish beef recipes now, with this being my first in the slow cooker. Can I just say "WOW!" - this was a fantastic recipe! Having gone thru so many now and recognizing our personal tastes, I did make a few adjustments right off the bat. I went overboard on the garlic (it was pre-minced), the rosemary and marjoram. Added a fair amount of dried thyme leaves (about 2-3 teaspoons worth), and went up to 1 1/2 teaspoons of allspice. Also cut up a large celery stalk, and added 4 decent sized yukon gold potatoes (skin left on) when I added everything else. Left it on high for 6 hours - and it was just bursting with flavor! With this recipe being so easy - it can't be beat :) A keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We made this for a St. Patricks day dinner. I don't usually like beef stews but this was AMAZING espically served with horse radish mashed potatoes. Here is what I changed: Used ZANTS instead of raisens (they are dried currents and are alot smaller than raisens). Added celery and did not use rutabegers or potatoes. Added the mashed potatoes to the soup when served. Rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was fantastic, my whole family loved it! Next time I will take it easy on the allspice, it was maybe a little too much. Made a Guinness chocolate cake for dessert - a perfect St. Patty's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States