Beer-Baked Irish Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good. Husband LOVED the stew, esp'ly the beef flavor. Only added onions & carrots; next time will at least add potatoes, celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Wonderful, rich stew. I believe the allspice enhanced the flavor. Proud to be Irish with this one!!! :) Served with Champ and Penguin Lady's Irish Soda Bread on this website. Alterations to recipe: Used only 2 pounds of meat and made with 2 cups whole baby carrots. I also altered cooking method. Sauteed the onion and garlic with meat in dutch oven. Added remaining ingredients and simmered for 2 hours, stirring occasionally. Beef was melt-in-your mouth tender!! Recommend adding bacon "to taste" because the gravy was already rich and flavorful enough. I will also try adding potatoes to stew instead of the serving champ on the side just to "change up".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Add a some potatoes and thicken up the sauce and you have yourself a real Irish stew. With these modifications it was absolutely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The spices in this stew are amazing. I doubled the recipe, invited friends over and when we were done, it looked like they had licked the pan clean. For the Irish ale, I used Guinness Extra Stout. I did alter the recipe a wee bit...and I think this was for the better. First, I added Klondike Baby potatoes as I can't imagine a true Irish Stew not having potatoes. Second, I added one large box of Swanson's Beef Broth and lastly, I cut the onions up very small instead of cutting them in eighths. I liked this recipe so much, I may cook it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlchristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have any Guinness, so I just used 3 cups or so of beef broth. I also added two large potatoes, peeled and chopped. Smelled SO wonderful in my crockpot all day. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Thank you pollock1231! We absolutely loved this recipe. The only modification I made was switching parsley for basil (only because I forgot to buy the parsley). I think this will be a St. Patty's tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I really liked this idea but I changed a couple things... Instead of 4 large onions, I did 2, added 3 lg potatoes, and 6 stalks celery. I used a pint of Guinness, and 12 oz of (whatever beer I had in the fridge ((blue moon spring)). I also added 2 sm cans of cream of mushroom soup to make it less watery. I threw in about 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken it all up a bit. I really liked the way it turned out, as did those I served it to for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was perfect! It definately is becoming a family favourite. 10 points from DH who says this is now his favourite dish! Thanks so much. Tweaks i made was to add some diced potates and zuchinni slices. Plus i used fresh rosemary instead of dried. 2 cups of beef stock and 2tbspn of tomato paste along with the beer. Plus i served it up with steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Fabulous! Tender beef, succulent sauce, very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkaa55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
just good. I'm not sure that I liked the allspice--and it was almost too beefy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States