Beer-Baked Irish Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
A great hearty recipe! I added some red potatoes in exchange for some of the meat. I also added a whole can of beef broth, as other users suggested, in order to make it more of a stew. Worchester sauce next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This "Beer-Baked Irish Beef" was good. If I were to make it again, I would chop the onions in small pieces and caramelize them for aesthetics (not cut in eighths and add raw - not sure about authenticity) before adding to the slow cooker, although I just noticed that Saveur's photo shows a way to cut the onions such that they appear attractive (unlike mine). I would also use baby carrots and add some fingerling potatoes and Worcestershire sauce as another variation. This recipe was very flavorful "as is," but a soup bone might be a nice addition if I were serving guests (although not necessary). I do confess that I left out the allspice (don't like it) and the flour (food intolerances). I served mine with colcannon for St. Patrick's Day. It is a nice easy recipe to make on a busy day. Thank you pollock1231 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is not the best stew I have made. It was okay. Needed salt and just seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
An excellant stew recipe and I made it in my crock pot !! My husband even had 2 helpings and liked it very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I did most of this recipe, except I only used 3 onions. I used Guinness and as someone else suggested I added Bovril diluted down as a broth. I also added small white potatoes cut in half. I used a Trio gravy mix to thicken up the fluid it turned out well to dunk bread in. But one thing I did, I did it at 12 midnight, and let it cook till 4:30 the following day. As my friend says...Deilcious! The meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I will make this again but no allspice next time; Also, I must have used an unusal brand of beer because it was overpowering. I had to all Worcestershire, sugar and some white wine to cut it. Next time I'll use Bud. Recipe made excellent gravy and I served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have been making a similar recipe for years using a roast that I cut into chunks, flour and brown, then place into crockpot. I add baby carrots and chunks of onion and a bit of sea salt and ground black pepper. I add one envelope of dried onion soup and cover completely with Michelob AMBERBOCK beer. The meat falls apart, it is so tender. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Serve with mashed potatoes and use liquid as gravy. It smells heavenly! Might need a bit of spicing up for some of you, but we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I don't like strong beer for cooking anything. I still use the old favorite, the original light beer. "Grain Belt"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
It was just okay. I followed the recipe to a "T". It was kind of bland. It really could have used some potatoes, or possibly mushrooms. I might make it again, but I WILL be making some changes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Wow this was great. Only change was to leave the carrots out as the family would just pick them out. Terrific sauce. I used Guiness Dark stout/ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States