Beer and Maple Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
A thoroughly solid lentil stew. There was more flavour than my Oma's, but dumplings (like hers) would really put this in five star territory. Be careful with the amount of dried lentils that you add, as it will drastically change the amount of liquid left over. I found 1 and a half cups of lentils created a thick stew, while a single cup had significantly more broth. I used both red and green lentils together with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrizzlyMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
A nice hearty fall meal. I liked the flavor of the beer and the maple - it gave it a slightly sweet flavor. I did cook it down longer than suggested (about 65 minutes), so it was the thickness I liked. After the 45 minutes suggested, it was more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
We are lentil lovers in our house so I was looking forward to trying this soup with a twist. It really was very good and a good alternative to a classic German Lentil soup. The 4 star rating is because, the beer I used was a bit too bitter and the next time I will choose another brand. I also suggest to cook up a bit more bacon so you have some to crumble on top when serving. I served it with homemade cornbread which really complimented it well. This is a soup that will help us get through the cold winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My husband loved this stew. The maple lends a hint of sweetness. I also added kielbasa to mine, which I add to just about every soup/stew that involves legumes! Makes for a good meat addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this using low sodium beef broth instead of beer and added sausage.My hubby loved it.Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent stew. Prepared by the recipe - used Sam Adams' Winter Lager for the beer - and served it over brown rice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was very tasty! Since my children are young I omitted the beer, which probably would have made this truly great and give it a little contrasting flavor. I added a pound of ground beef, which was overkill, so I would omit any additional meat or reduce the amount next time. I also cooked it longer to make it less soupy. I'll add some chard or leeks next time to add a few extra vitamins since this already packs in the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Super duper fantastic. Giving it a 5 star rating because the recipe is nice on it's own, but it's easy to play around with, which makes it a real winner. I use canned lentils, and I added a 1/4 cup, or so, of dried red lentil to deal with the soupy-ness some other reviewers have mentioned. The dried lentils help thicken it up and give it a nice taste while boiling. I also use veggie broth instead of beef (personal pref).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked it for 65 minutes, and thought that was a good length of time. I would use a little less maple syrup next time as it was very sweet. My family thought it was only "okay", which is why I give it a 3 star rating. Maybe it will be even tastier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This isn't a stew, but a soup... And a bland one at that. I'd bought green lentils on sale, and was looking for ways use the bag. The flavours sounded good, and the seasonings intrigued me. Perhaps it didn't turn out stew-ish because I used a different kind of lentil. I didn't find the soup sweet at all, actually maybe another spoon of maple syrup would have done it some good, and at least doubling the seasonings. Was eaten, but didn't entirely care for it. The bacon would do better used as a topping after cooking. I like the flavour ideas in this recipe, and may apply them to a recipe of my own creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States